I was told I had to ‘Be kind to myself’

Woke up this morning hungry. That’s probably because I didn’t eat much last night for dinner. Just had fruit and two pieces of toast. Anyways woke up this morning and had my leftover oatmeal pancakes for brekky. But I added about 1/2 a cup of the left over fruit mixture from last nights Mango Cherry popsicles. Then I added 1 TB of cottage cheese with 1 tsp of agave syrup mixed in with it. The result? Three pancakes stacked with fruit and sweetened cottage cheese. YUMM!

p1010231

I have been following this blog called Eat, Live, Run. It’s about this young girl..well 23 year old woman who is a yoga practising, healthy woman. She has totally inspired me to start yoga and to look into the teachings or aryvudeic lifestyle. So I went to yoga on Wednesday night and then I went to see someone who understands aryuvedic teachings and what type of doshas I am. There are three kinds.

Anyways, the teachings look at what type of person you are and what type of diet is best for you. Anyways I am a pitta pretty much through and through. So this is what she told me.

  1. Start each day with ginger tea– 1/8 tsp of ground ginger or grated fresh
  2. Brekky: oats soaked over night, pancakes made with spelt flour
  3. Eat Fruit separately from meals. At least 1/2 an hour after a meal
  4. Eat main meal between 10am-2pm
  5. Evening mean must be lighter
  6. Eat in a calm relaxed environment
  7. Be conscious and aware while eating
  8. Eat when hungry no matter what time
  9. Be kind to self

I really enjoyed the woman that I met with. The no eating fruit with your meal was interesting. It’s due to the fact that the digestion of fruit is harder on your system and different than most foods. So it should be done on its own. Also, fruit salad, so my Popsicles, are the best, because it’s mixing different types of fruits..which can also be hard on your tummy as well. Additionally, she said that I should be having 3 cups of hot water a day..but no more. It apparently cleanses your body and emotions..which is what I need.

The no’s for the next 11 weeks:

  1. Left over foods (which is what I ate for lunch today –opps)
  2. Cheese, yogurt, ice cream
  3. Peanuts and peanut butter
  4. Red meat
  5. Fried and oily foods–fried eggs, fried sausages, chips, fries, bacon)
  6. Tea–high caffeine, coffee, iced or chilled beverages, iced or chilled water–everything should be at room temp.

It was amazing to see her and to be around her. She comes form a similar environment and childhood that I did as well. Product of divorce, step and half siblings.

There was something nice to when speaking with her, because she goes ‘I am someone who always has to know what they’re eating next. I am planning all the time. I go to bed thinking about what I am going to have for brekky and always need to feel prepared’. I thought to myself ‘Thank God someone understand how I feel’.

Further she goes ‘it sounds like you have been using food to fill a sense of abandonment and anxiety throughout your life. Yes, it probably isn’t the best thing now and you have to find something else to fill that void. However, the most important thing it to acknowledge that albeit perhaps not the best thing, it has gotten you to be where you are now. It’s about appreciating what it’s given you and changing your life. Turning the boat around and taking care of you!’

I left feeling amazing.

It is worth it to figure out what dosha you are, there’s tons of online tests and they’re the exact same questions that she asked me. There’s a lot of information online about what foods you should and shouldn’t be eating.

One thought on “I was told I had to ‘Be kind to myself’

Leave a Reply

