Chicken Pot PIE!!!!!

Woo hoo..Last night I made chicken pot pie for the 20 Americans who are studying abroad this semester. Let’s just say it was a freaking hit!

I started off the evening of ‘Mish in the Kitchen’ with the Minty Sweet Fruit Dip. I just basically made it up as I went…that’s how it always goes.

p10101281

They pretty much devoured it. Honestly…wow didn’t realise it was going to be such a hit.

For dinner I made Chicken Pot Pie. This recipe is amazing and fail proof. The thing that I didn’t do was add the ‘pie’ part. Instead I simply added buttermilk biscuits to the top of the pie part. Basically amazing. So I guess you could call it Chicken Pot Dumplings.

I made ‘normal’ buttermilk biscuits‘ an gluten free buttermilk biscuits, because one of the girls is gluten intolerant. For the gluten free ones, I didn’t use the different flours. Instead I just used a gluten free flour I picked up at a local health food store as well as the brown rice flour. Both of the recipes needed more milk in my opinion for making it more ‘dumpling’ like.

We ended this fabulous meal with a Gluten Free Chocolate Pumpkin Cake w/ Pumpkin Cream Cheese Frosting. It’s from the website Gluten Free Mommy.

THIS CAKE IS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The frosting, I think, is even better. Frankly it’s amazing. If you ever had the Pillsbury Orange Cinnamon Roll things..you know the ones in the tube..this frosting is exactly like it. It is so good. I like it even better cold. The cake is dense, but not too sweet. The frosting recipe makes a TON of frosting.

I..however..knows that what I made wasn’t going to work with my gut. So I instead has chicken w/ veggies over zucchini noodles. I am loving the idea of zucchini noodles because 1. I love zucchini and 2. It’s nice to be able to say I had ‘noodles’

p1010132

All that I have to say is there’s absolutely nothing left over from last night!

Leave a Reply

