Finding your happy weight!

Hey there and good morning!

I have just gotten back from a 1 hour morning walk with my friend. I loathe getting up in the morning..but I think it’s a good thing to do. I mentioned to my friend Nicole that I love seeing the city wake-up.

Anyways, haven’t had brekky yet…but have been wanting to point out two interesting websites for information if you’re wanting to lose weight, maintain weight and/or just understand the challenges of weight loss which I have gone through or people that you know.

I am doing WeightWatchers (WW) and it has been good to me as long as I am good to it :). Coupled with the Special Carbohydrate Diet (SCD) for my Crohns it’s mentally draining sometimes to have to juggle to two different spheres…but I have gotten to the point where I can balance the two. In this the whole premise with weight loss is ‘put less in’.

With that mentality I came across and article online which highlights the idea of caloric intake and it’s impact upon weight loss. A NYTimes online article (did I mention that I LOVE NYTimes online?) had a recent article titled: Study Zeros in on Calories, Not Diet, For Loss. What it stated was:

For people who are trying to lose weight, it does not matter if they are counting carbohydrates, protein or fat. All that matters is that they are counting something.

That is so interesting! I also thinks it’s GREAT for people not have to worry about a certain type of ‘fix it diet’..just the total amount that they’re eating. We all like different things..meat/cheese/bread/sugar/veggies..it’s just focusing on the total amount.

More than 800 overweight adults in Boston and Baton Rouge, La., were assigned to one of four diets that reduced calories through different combinations of fat, carbohydrates and protein. Each plan cut about 750 calories from a participant’s normal diet, but no one ate fewer than 1,200 calories a day.

I think that most important thing here is that they couldn’t eat less than 1,200 calories a day. NO CRASH DIETING!

After two years, every diet group had lost — and regained — about the same amount of weight regardless of what diet had been assigned. Participants lost an average of 13 pounds at six months and had maintained about 9 pounds of weight loss and a two-inch drop in waist size after two years. While the average weight loss was modest, about 15 percent of dieters lost more than 10 percent of their weight by the end of the study. Still, after about a year many returned to at least some of their usual eating habits.

1. Fantastic that they lost weight
2. Welcome to dieting..if you DON’T try..it will creep back on (welcome to my 15lbs higher range right now). It’s a lifestyle change and I wish that even I would use that phrase more. Dieting sounds temporary.

The lesson, researchers say, is that people lose weight if they lower calories, but it does not matter how.

Ta Da! It’s not rocket science..it’s not shakes…it’s all about CALORIES.

So..now that we know that it’s caloric intake–we’ve always known that–now there’s research to prove it..What’s Your Happy Weight?

I came across this article via a Twitter (anyone else do twitter? I love it). Anyways that website is Happy Weight Calculator. Interesting (only for the ladies) as to what your happy weight is. Without doing this I’ve said that I’d love to be around 158-160lbs! Well, after doing this test..guess what 160lbs was my happy weight!

Well, it’s 7:30am and I need to get going–now I am starving and in need of  a shower. Happy reading! Let me know what you think of the article and website! ~Mish

3 thoughts on “Finding your happy weight!

  1. FoodsThatFit says:

    Thanks lady for the great comments on my page! I love reading your site and the great info you provide. I had a really good friend with Crohn’s and I was amazed at her self-discipline with her diet. I admire those, like yourself, that maintain a healthy lifestyle with limited food options. Keep up the great work!

  2. Christine says:

    I love the Happy Weight calculator, very neat. Sometimes those weight calculators can either be a) way depressing or b) have a huge weight range. Neither one of these answers is helpful. Love your blog, keep up the good work

Leave a Reply

