Loving me

Day 3:88

Let’s just say I think I hit the wall last night. In that, each night for the past week I have been keeping a gratitude journal. After reading part of ‘The Secret’ and starting up my other blog: wordspixelated, I realised that life is too hard when it’s always through a negative view finder.

Thus, last night I did two things (warning: I didn’t become a primary school teacher, because I knew I would have the ugliest backboards ever and terrible drawing skills).

1. I drew what I wanted to feel like crossing the finish line of my 1/2 marathon.

p1010214

2. I wrote down all of the things which I love about myself.

p1010211

I cried. Here I have been HATING, LOATHING everyday waking up to my fat body. Looking in the windows as I walk down the streets trying to suck my stomach in so I could remember what it felt like to be twenty pounds thinner…when I felt on top of the world.

I have to start loving myself. My body has done amazing things: lost 100lbs, gotten me all over the world, not sick in India (thank god), gotten through sickness in Japan, and has been tolerating my horrible eating the past 2 1/2 months without dying on me.

So give yourself a hug today.

p.s. off to help a friend bake a cake for her dad–apparently she started the other one of fire last night :(, lunch w/ a friend at my FAV local resturant and then I think 1 hour power yoga and maybe a run.

One thought on “Loving me

  1. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Well, I rather like your handwriting. It looks like happy writing to me.

    I think this whole “loving yourself” business gets easier with age. I’m not saying I don’t have days when I feel despondent about aspects of myself but generally I am accepting of my own shortcomings (physically and personality-wise) and less bothered about changing them.

    Remember that life isn’t about getting somewhere – life is the journey itself. Just relax and enjoy yourself. It is actually easier than you think to do so. Not every day I know – we all have ups and downs – but generally if you just focus on what you have and what is good.

    You look great anyway!

Leave a Reply

