Bike rides and un-sent letters

Day 5:88

This morning I decided that I would ride my bike (which I haven’t ever ridden by myself since I got my bike in September for my birthday). I peddled up to my old house to pick up some mail. I think that I forgot how many hills there were..but it was good. 35 minutes and some sweat..never killed anyone.

Started the morning off–with a gut friendly recipe of almond meal pancakes w/ a warmed banana, almond butter and honey. However, when I calculated the the points on Weight Watchers I almost died…23 points. OMG. I have 26 for the whole day. Thank God I went biking this morning. So, almond meal pancakes are a once in awhile indulgence. 😦

p1010222

It was a lazy day filled with going to the markets and buying tons of fruit and veg which is perfect for starting off a good week. I try and only go shopping once or twice a week. I always go to the Organic stand at the Fremantle Markets…they’re lovely people.

I have come to realise one thing and that is that I am horrible at budgeting. I am trying to save about 9,000.00 by the end of the year so that I can go home and travel around New Zealand. However, that means that I am going to have to live pretty frugally for the next eight months. I have never really tracked the cash that goes in and out..but I am trying to save and pinch my way through each week. Some people are super good at saving, but I am not. I am trying to, because I don’t want to have no play money—spending it on stupid trivial things…like colonoscopies and pathology. jk.

After writing out how much I needed to save, I decided to go and lay outside and soak up as much sun as I could because the weather is going to be changing pretty soon. Fremantle is LOVELY in the summer and a windy/rainy tunnel in the winter. I was looking for my book, ‘The Post Birthday World’–much like the movie Sliding Doors, and I came across this card.

p10102261

This card was going to be given to someone, but I never gave it to them. Have you ever done that? Written a letter, but then upon thinking it through you decided that it wasn’t appropriate, too sappy, didn’t say what you wanted it to say? Funny. It was interesting to read through the stuff which I wrote, the card was more for me, than for him.

Lusting after eating a salad and then going for a later night run tonight. I much prefer running at night or early in the morning..when it’s cold outside. See you tomorrow after going out with a friend I met from Twitter. Just at some apple crisp…my stomach immediatley hurt—I stopped myself. I have realised it’s just not worth it.

3 thoughts on “Bike rides and un-sent letters

  1. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Yeah, I’ve done that.

    Not just cards and letters either – so many emails saved as drafts. sometimes I wonder if I had sent them, whether things would be different, but we have to trust the judgement call we made at the time.

    I am hopeless at saving too. It is hard not to live in the moment – saving doesn’t really fit with that!

  2. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Yeah, I’ve done that.

    Not just cards and letters either – so many emails saved as drafts. sometimes I wonder if I had sent them, whether things would be different, but we have to trust the judgement call we made at the time.

    I am hopeless at saving too. It is hard not to live in the moment – saving doesn’t really fit with that!
    Sorry, should have said good post! Waiting for the next one!

Leave a Reply

