Get some: Eggs & organic animals

I basically love eggs. Every night, before I go to bed, I think to myself…which type of eggs am I going to eat tomorrow for brekky. It’s usually 4-6 egg whites w/ mixed vegetables and sometimes cheese. Or 2 poached eggs w/ a veggie fry up…that’s what I had this morning.

p10102532 poached eggs
1 tomato (cut in half, salt&pepper exposed side before placing into pan. Fry for about 6-8 minutes)
Mushrooms Spinach
-and-
heated mushy banana. One thing I love about my diet (SCD) is that I can only eat mushy bananas. I don’t particularly like mushy bananas but they are great in a frying pan w/ about anything. Honestly they’re fab. AND you get them at reduced prices at the supermarket. (If you’re looking for an amazing banana bread recipe—not diet friendly—this one is to-die-for.)

I drank some of my recently bought Oxfam Organic Free Trade Swiss Pressed Decaf Coffee. I can’t, shouldn’t, have regular coffee on my stomach right now..it just doesn’t work.

p10102541

Going back to eggs I should state two things:

1. I can’t buy eggs unless they’re free range and I desperately try and find those which are grain fed.

p1010255I have recently become aware of the farming practices of animals (my family are farmers) and it makes me sick. I am NOT against meat…I LOVE IT! However, we only ate cattle which we raised, lamb, chicken, etc. Buying chicken at the store where I know they were slammed into cages and pumped full of God Knows What…makes me sick. That goes into my body…I have enough crap in my body. I have vowed to only buy organic meat from now on, which means I will have to cut back on how much I eat, because of course it’s more expensive.
2. Those who eat eggs lose more weight! Thanks Roni for this fabulous article!

A study published online today in the International Journal of Obesity shows that eating two eggs for breakfast, as part of a reduced-calorie diet, helps overweight adults lose more weight and feel more energetic than those who eat a bagel breakfast of equal calories

“People have a hard time adhering to diets and our research shows that choosing eggs for breakfast can dramatically improve the success of a weight loss plan,” said Nikhil V. Dhurandhar, Ph.D., lead researcher and associate professor in the laboratory of infection and obesity at Pennington Biomedical Research Center, a campus of the Louisiana State University system. “Apparently, the increased satiety and energy due to eggs helps people better comply with a reduced-calorie diet.”

I totally agree with what she’s saying. I don’t understand how someone can eat a bowl of cereal, Special K, and be full. Or even toast for that matter. I am usually starving after eating carb-loaded things..I NEED PROTEIN…

Compared to the subjects who ate a bagel breakfast, men and women who consumed two eggs for breakfast as part of a reduced-calorie diet:

  • lost 65 percent more weight
  • exhibited a 61 percent greater reduction in BMI
  • reported higher energy levels than their dieting counterparts who consumed a bagel breakfast

One thought on “Get some: Eggs & organic animals

  1. Jackie says:

    YUM. I love eggs too, and I definitely agree with you about eating them for breakfast – I never eat cereal anymore, it just doesn’t cut it! I’m starved after an hour…. I can’t wait until we are out of school and have some real income – you have definitely changed my perspective on food, and I have started to buy a lot more organic foods. I can’t wait for my husband to have a job so I can go all out!

Leave a Reply

