Beans Beans the magical fruit

Good morning sunshines!

Up this morning. I slept horribly last night. Couldn’t get to sleep for one, then was woken up by the baby upstairs…grr. Needless to say I was a bit unrested this morning. Have shelved the run until this arvo. Not something I want to get into, and I’ve vowed for the next 12 weeks of my 1/2 marathon training to not miss a training session and not move one around the week unless I absolutely have to. Thus, I will be running tonight.

Tonight’s run: 5 minutes then 5 intervals of 6 min running, 3 jogging then 5 minute cool down. That’s 58 minutes..that’s pretty good for me if I do say so myself. I actually might bike down to the gym tonight (2.5 miles away) and run on the treadmills there..just depends on what the night turns out to being.

Last night I made this yummy new bean mix-up: Black, White and Red!

p1010257

1/2 c. dried black and kidney beans
1 c. of dried white beans

1 whole onion
1/2 chili w/ seeds
5 whole cloves of garlic

Water

  1. Soak the bean overnight and the following day.
  2. In a sauce pan add about 3x the amount of water as beans and add 1 onion, 1/2 a chili, five 5 cloves of garlic and salt to taste
  3. Boil for about 1 1/2 hours–I didn’t boil mine long enough and the kidney beans are a bit tough.
    1. What I might do is separate the kidney beans from the small white beans (if you were to use larger white beans I’d add them to the kidney beans) and boil for about 1/2 an hour, then add the smaller beans and boil for the remaining hour.

I am going to experiment with this recipe, because it’s CHEAP and it’s GUT FRIENDLY!

This morning I had 1/2 c. of the mixture w/ some capsicum, mushrooms, and zucchini w/ 2 TB of cheese.

p1010259

Delicious.

Today for lunch I am going to have 1 c. of the beans w/ a salad and tonight I have something interesting up my sleeve..lets just say it’s the return of zucchini noodles!

Have a fabulous day. If you have time, check out my other blog–it’s a picture a day for a year! Blogger I am.

Laters.

One thought on “Beans Beans the magical fruit

Leave a Reply

