Good-Bye Facebook; Hello Timor!

I closed my facebook account…OMG…send a Twitter to everyone you know. It’s not even an April Fools Joke (ironically done) and April Fools. I was sent this blog post from my co-worker Ervina (who I write my other blog with). I think that it ‘spoke’ to me, in that I am in an incredibly pivotal moment in my life–will talk about that in just a sec.

The blog, Superhero Journal, under the title ‘What is Real’

Mostly, what I have been doing for the last several months is searching for what’s real in my life, what nourishes me most, what grounds me most powerfully in the tangible now of my life. I have been pruning, trimming, whittling away at what what no longer serves me, taking stock of all the blessings, choosing powerfully and intentionally what I want to keep.

This is also how I feel right now. I need to trim down my life from the things which mean nothing to me. Not that Facebook doesn’t mean anything to me..but what does it really mean? I have 800 friends..of whom I talk with about 5. Those five can e-mail me. Since moving to Australia I have to admit that having Facebook, two blogs, twitter, g-mail, Skpye, etc. have kept me ‘connected’ with people around the world.

In the wake of my clearing, I had the sense that my energy was too far-flung, dispersed in too many directions, that I had been tending too many things I couldn’t touch and that I was out of balance in some fundamental way. I realized I needed to bring my focus in closer and tend things much nearer to home.

But how connected am I to Australia? To the place where I live? How many people do I know, social networks that I’ve gotten used to? Am I honestly LIVING where I live…or living in cyberworld connected to people who aren’t around me?

And of course, how do you reconcile being a blogger, surfing Facebook, emailing, texting, phoning, twittering when you are on a quest to ground yourself in what is real in your life? How do these things fit in? and what am I giving up by spending countless hours checking email and blogs and weather reports and celebrity gossip columns? What am I not creating in my life as a result of all of the life force I give to my “friends” in cyberspace?

I totally agree with her. I really like what she says after this:

I have a lot of friends in cyberspace. I know you do too. We love them! They are like us! They are kindred spirits. They are creative, they care about what we care about. We wish they were in our hometown. Sometimes we graduate to phone friendships and these connections deepen even more. Still more rare and wonderful is when we get to meet them in person and confirm, Yes! you are real! and you are even better in real life. These are incredible blessings.

I have been incredibly blessed with the knowledge and information on the internet, the support I’ve gained from people whom I’ve never met before online..it’s truly a blessing. But what about my next door neighbor, or the baby that’s growing upstairs, or the young professionals all of the city of whom I’ve never met, or…… Here I am spending my time doing silly Facebook quizzes and ‘stalking’ people’s relationships statuses, etc. I only have one life…and I have to choose how I spend it.

How I spend it, is what has been getting at me recently. I am a trained teacher and have a Master’s Degree in Education. I have only taught about 1 year total and frankly I don’t think that teaching is what I want to do right now. I want to do disaster relief, I want to be someone who can go into 3rd world countries and educate in health related issues..or at least that’s what I think that I want to do. so…I AM GOING TO TIMOR! June 20th-July5th. I am so damn excited. I have FOREVER wanted to go on a vol. trip somewhere in the world (I’ll get to Africa before I die). I have to do it now..my visa for my current job is up in December and I need to decide what I want to do after that..keep working or move on with my life (30,000 in-debt but happy).

Because I am going to Timor…I won’t be able to run the 1/2 marathon in June. However, I have realised that I haven’t ever completed things that I start out passionately about. I go head strong into something (buying a gym membership, spending 130.o0 for uncompleted salsa lessons). I need to finish something fitness related…I need to be in the present moment and continue to advance myself physically..even though running at 6am in the morning isn’t as enticing as staying in a warm bed.

It’s about pruning, it’s about re-evaluating and frankly it’s about being in the place where you live. So good-bye Facebook, hello Timor and hello world that I am living in.

6 thoughts on “Good-Bye Facebook; Hello Timor!

  1. Marianne says:

    I’m trying to simplify these days too so I understand the move. I was sad, though, to go to write to you via Facebook today and I thought you defriended me…then I thought, “No Way! I’ll go to her blog!” I don’t have your current e-mail address so can you e-mail it to me so I can write to you? 🙂 Miss you lots!! Marianne (maharris5@yahoo.com)

  2. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Yes, I kind of know what you mean. I have done that too – and it was a good thing to do, kind of cleansing. I spent maybe three months offline.

    But I think there is something to be said for online contact for some people. Not everyone. But for me I think it adds something, doesn’t take away. I don’t know about you – you strike me as someone who is naturally more gregarious and probably more easily copes in a sociable world. So for you perhaps it closes doors. But for me I think blogs and Twitter open doors – make me do more, talk more and live more.

    Living is what you make of it. It isn’t necessarily about “real” things and people. Chatting online is often more intense, more real than the day-to-day trivial conversations we have with those who think they know us but don’t really.

    I think the trick with all these things – blogs, Facebook, Twitter – is to keep them small, to be a little ruthless about who you let in.

    • Mish says:

      I totally agree with you. It’s striking a balance and feeling like my social outlets are solely from the online world. It’s pruning back but not chopping down. Thanks for that.

  3. Robi says:

    I have had very similar thoughts. In an effort to get real, I chose instead to cleanse my friends list and put more of an effort into being real with the people I chose to keep on it. Much more difficult but also much more rewarding for me. Just food for thought. 🙂

  4. nomeatathlete says:

    My advice about not completing goals: Set even bigger ones. ‘Reasonable’ goals don’t get you out of bed in the morning; inspiring ones do. Make goals that your friends will laugh at.

Leave a Reply

