Cooking for the French

Good morning/afternoon/night sunshines! Well, sorry I didn’t post last night. Lets just say it was a jam-packed weekend of cooking with and/or for people. I loved it.

Sunday started off with the domestic chores which always seem to beckon a response on a Sunday. But I have to admit there’s NOTHING like hopping into a bed that has clean sheets. After doing all of the domestic things I headed down to this local Indian Festival right down the street from me. I love living where I live..there’s always something going on. The smells of the food were insurmountable and I loved just being around all of it. It brought back so many memories of my 1 month trip in Dec 2006/Jan 2007. I bit sad that I couldn’t eat anything, but thankful that I got to see some beautiful clothes.

p10102851

The other thing which was interesting about it, was that there were so many people who live in Australia finding the roots to their culture. Watching them, 20 at a time, cooking up amazing Indian food…celebrating their culture. I think sometimes that it’s hard to find a cultural identifier for Americans, except disgustingly fatty foods–honestly.

p1010286

After wandering around I was starving. So I made an egg white omelet with some curry powder, 1/4 of an avocado, cilantro, a bit of cheese, zucchini and chili. Pretty amazing!

p1010287

A nap out in the sun was called for. I pretended to read through Jodi Piocult’s new book ‘Handle with Care’ but I soon fell asleep. After the nap it was dinner prep time.

I cooked dinner for two study abroad students. Their whole house is gone on a mandatory history field trip and they’ve been left behind. So I decided that I would cook for them. We started off with red wine, crackers (i didn’t eat or drink) w/ blue cheese, apples and almonds (I did eat)

p1010292

For dinner was mashed pumpkin, steamed green beans and what I’d like to call ‘Sundried and Wined Chicken’

p1010293

Recipe: ‘Sun Dried and Wined Chicken’

1 small onion cut up
4-5 sun dried tomatoes diced up
2-3 cloves of garlic diced
4-6 mushrooms sliced
3 tsp of olive oil
10-15 leaves of basil
1 generous splash of white wine
3 chicken breasts
tin foil

  1. Preheat oven to 350/180
  2. In a small pan heat oil. Add in garlic, onion and sundried tomatoes. Saute for about 3-4 minutes
  3. Add mushrooms
  4. When cooked down splash in white wine, cook for about 1-2 minutes
  5. Shut off heat and sprinkle basil over the top
    p1010289
  6. Get out tin foil and pull enough off so that you can place a chicken breast in it and it will be covered.
  7. Place chicken breast into the tin foil, cover with 1/3 of the white wine mixture.
    p1010290
  8. Enclose the whole breast and place into the preheated oven for about 20-25 minutes.

For the mashed pumpkin, this is normally what I do.

  1. Steam the pumpkin for about 25-30 minutes until incredibly soft
    p1010288
  2. Then blend with a food processor, blender, or hand blender. They’re divine.

We had a fabulous meal. The french girls had never had mashed pumpkin before and they ate 2 serves, as did I. Pumpkin is incredibly healthy for you and I didn’t add anything other than salt and pepper…it honestly doesn’t need it.

I was going to do a the 30 day shred and some yoga, but I needed to get my house cleaned up and the sheets on my bed. I crawled into bed around 8:30pm..yikes that’s early. Read a bit more of Jodi, called a friend in the states and crashed.

I did a little bean prep this morning and experimented with pumpkin for brekky–that post to come later!

2 thoughts on “Cooking for the French

  1. GiGi says:

    O la la! I typically am no fan of chicken, probably because I don’t know how to “spice it up”… but this recipe sounds AWESOME so I think I may just have to try it out! Oh and the pumpkin side, awesome too!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

