“You gained weight” — Thank You!

Can I just say that yes, I have lost some lbs. since I’ve gotten back on my diet and silenced the binge biotch. However, today was just one of those days when you are stunned at what people will say and do.

Background: I work with International and Study Abroad students. I provide endless amounts of pastoral care, and bend over backwards where I can to insure that students are well adjusted when they’re away from home. This student, whom I’ve consoled before, came and asked for my help yesterday with a business assignment. I said, no problem I’ll take time out of my lunch break to assist her.

She literally walks through the door and says

‘Michelle you’ve gained weight. I didn’t even recognise you the other day. It’s not bad, you look great’

I was stunned, what the hell am I supposed to say to that…here are some possible responses

-Thank you, now go do your assignment on your own
-What the HELL are you thinking talking to someone like that
-Don’t dig into my candy bowl after saying something like that
-Get the hell of out my office
-You mean that you want me to help you with an assignment and you’re talking to me like that

Instead I said ‘yep, your right. I have. But now I am losing it’ Thank you for you boost of self-esteem and confidence..thank you so much!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I have to admit, that even though I am currently 107lbs lighter then I was at my heaviest and have heaps of support….it still stings. I could feel the little tears in the back of my eyes welling. The one thing I didn’t do was turn to naughty food–FINALLY.

Instead I made this delicious salad. I was going to have a chicken salad and frankly was looking forward to it all day long..but went into the fridge and all the damn chicken was frozen in the freezer. Do you ever have that, when you are dreaming of something to eat and meat is frozen, or you don’t have an ingredient you thought that you did..grr. So I basically fried up some broccoli, zucchini and mushroom w/ fresh basil. Then constructed a salad w/ lettuce, tomato, cucumber, banana and tuna (you have to try this combo). It was tossed w/ flax seed oil…OMG I LOVE FLAX SEED OIL.

p10103141

Tonight I am off to Oxfam Training to become a public speaker. It’s at 6pm. I have to take the train for 45 minutes, do a 2 hour training, then catch the train back for another 45 minutes. I know it’s a long haul. I am going to take a good book and just enjoy unwinding. I am excited about the training, but there’s a little part of me that doesn’t want to go, because it’s such a long ways out of my way–but it’s for a good cause and yet another way to get to know people who I ‘click’ with and to support international development issues.

So, whats for dinner..I have no idea. We’ll see.

6 thoughts on ““You gained weight” — Thank You!

  1. Teri Leavens says:

    Go you for focusing on others – the Oxfam Training sounds fabulous (I’m a bit jealous, not gonna lie…). I hope it was worth the trip!

  2. Suz says:

    Michelle, I’m glad you stayed strong and didn’t stoop to her level. Also, I haven’t seen you in a while, but I’m sure the weight gain is not noticeable and that person probably said it only because they didn’t have anything better to say, not because they really noticed. Some people can be so unaware sometimes!

  3. Mish says:

    Thanks ladies. I had a bit of a meltdown after writing this. I think that the words just kept ringing in my ears. I think it was more because I really wanted a bowl of ice cream and decided that I can’t. I just wanted some ice cream. You are dolls…thanks so much for your continued support.

Leave a Reply

