Having a bit of compassion

Today I went to the grocery store, because I needed to get cheese for tonights dinner…you’ll have to wait until later to know what it is. Let’s just say it’s going to be an experiment.

However, when I went into the grocery store there was this man outside who was been spoken with by security. He was probably, well looked, about 45-50, shaggy, homeless and suffering with mental illness. This illness was most likely coupled with substance abuse of some kind.

It got me thinking a lot about a lot of things.

  1. I am grateful that I have a roof over my head, that I don’t suffer from a mental illness
  2. What led to this decomposition of this human being?
  3. Are the police really the answer?
  4. Where do these people live?
  5. Is substance abuse prevalent in people with a mental illness?
  6. Does homelessness compound a mental illness and substance abuse?

So many questions ran through me head…where is the family?

I think it’s an interesting thing to think about as functional, clothed, housed, cashed up people of the world. Almost 20-40% of homeless people suffer mental illnesses, compared to 5% of the total population.

The next time, let compassion wash over you when you see those in the world struggling.

One thought on “Having a bit of compassion

  1. Robi says:

    As a mental health therapist, these are interesting questions. Let me know if you want to chat about them. đŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

