Honey: The Bees Knees

When I went down south this weekend I think that I became addicted to honey.

Which of course is a good thing, because frankly it’s the only method of getting a sugar high that I am allowed on my ‘lifestyle change’ to make my gut happy. Thus, I think that I may turn into a bee and start pollinating flowers in my past time. So what are the benefits of honey…why is my gut so obliged to process large quantities when I can’t stop shoving it in my face?

Both sweeteners contain glucose and fructose. However, for sugar, in the process of manufacturing, the organic acids, protein, nitrogen elements, enzymes and vitamins in the sugar cane are destroyed, whereas honey, a natural sweetener, subjects only to minimal heating.

Table sugar is sucrose, which is made up of two molecules bonded together. When we eat table sugar, our stomach has to use its own enzymes to separate the molecules apart before we can use the sugar’s energy. Honey is quite different. The bees have added a special enzyme to the nectar that divides the sucrose into glucose and fructose– two simple sugars for our bodies can absorb directly. Hence, compared to table sugar, honey has a healthier Glycemic Index (GI) The lower the GI rating, the slower the absorption and infusion of sugars into the bloodstream and hence a more gradual and healthier digestion process.

Unlike honey, table sugar lacks minerals and vitamins (hence it’s been often called empty calories), they draw upon the body’s nutrients to be metabolized into the system. When these nutrients are all used up, metabolizing of undesirable cholesterol and fatty acid is impeded, contributing to higher cholesterol and promoting obesity due to higher fatty acid on the organs and tissues. That is why it is not uncommon for fat people to suffer from malnutrition and many other health related problems. So the message is, honey vs sugar, if you are watching your weight, honey will be a smarter choice than sugar. website

Jena and I stopped by a honey farm on our drive abouts over the weekend and I think that I am in love. Totally and completley in love.

p1010806

That’s Jena and I with our loot after my purchase of a dark honey and a creamed honey. I didn’t even know that there were so many different types of honey….I have been missing out.

creamedhoney042608-770741

OH MY GOD! Creamed honey is probably the most AMAZING thing that I’ve ever eaten. I may have eaten and/or used 1 c. of it in three days…may have. I thought that creamed honey was ‘whipped’ honey, but I shall stand corrected:

Creamed honey is not whipped honey. There shouldn’t be any air in your creamed honey. Creamed honey is controlled granulation of honey which results in extremely small sugar crystals. The smaller the crystals the better the creamed honey. A good creamed honey should be smooth, not grainy, like velvet on the tongue. from Betterbee

In a quest to continue our honey adventure Jena and I stopped by another place called Bartholomeus’s Meadery–which basically means that everything is made from honey.

p1010825

Their honey selection was of course great. They had one which was chocolate honey and sesame honey–mix tahini w/ honey..it was fabulous. But we were honestly there for their amazing wine. Wine made from honey and not sugar–my gut smiled. I of course wasn’t driving so I left with a buzz at about 10:30am..which of course isn’t such a bad thing. I didn’t take any pictures cause I didn’t want to stop my flow of free samples, but if you follow the above link you can see all of their wines. I got the following two wines, yeah a bit of a lush I know.

BERRY MEAD

Made with Moort honey. Fermented along with 2% blackcurrant juice, to produce a wonderful Rose style. Great with salads, BBQ’s, and chicken. A wonderfully refreshing table wine.

12.5% alc/vol

METHEGLIN

Originally for healing purposes, this mead is spiced with ginger, cinnamon, cloves and rosemary. A rich spicy aroma precedes the enjoyment of this superb mead. The honey flavour is beautifully married with the spices and undertones of oak complement this delightful wine. An ideal wine to have after a meal, with a cheese platter or enjoy on it¹s own in the evening. Of course there is nothing better then a mulled Metheglin on a cold winters night in front of a log fire. Drink now or cellar for several years.

12.5 % alc/vol

Anyways, it was a good little adventure throughout the weekend and I was glad to be able to get to know honey a lot better. It’s always nice to be able to find something that has variety and brings a smile to my gut!

5 thoughts on “Honey: The Bees Knees

  1. Jackie says:

    YUM i’m with you on that – I love honey!!! To this day, Pb&honey sandwiches are still my favorite. That creamed honey looks divine, and I’m so glad you found something to make your belly happy!

    • Mish says:

      I know it’s pretty amazing stuff. You HAVE TO try the creamed honey. You’ll eat it by the spoonfuls…I may have done that.

  2. Heidi says:

    Hey! i love creamed honey as well! i have crohns and follow the SCD diet strictly…i thought only clear honey was legal…is creamed honey legal on the SCD diet!?

    Heidi

Leave a Reply

