Going back to the Classics

I didn’t take a nap like I had hoped..dang it. Anyways, my secret awesome recipe that I am working on will be ready for final review tomorrow. I have tasted it and honestly it’s so good.

Ok, for dinner I thought I wanted soup…but then I remembered that I had coconut flour in my pantry…and I REALLY wanted pancakes. I have to say that when the pancake flipped over and didn’t fall apart, I almost cried because I was so excited. Try not having pancakes for six months..you’d cry to. Due to the fact that I ran for about 70 minutes today during my soccer game I thought that pancakes were an awesome treat.

Coconut Pancakes
P1011198
2 eggs
1 tsp oil
4 TB water
1 TB thick milk or yogurt or cream cheese
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 TB of almond meal
2 TB of coconut flour

1. Mix everything together well.
2. In a small frying pan add about 1/2 a tsp of oil and place about 1/3 of the batter into it. Don’t flip over until you see the batter start cooking on the up side..little bubbles will pop through.
4. Flip and fry for about 30-45seconds.
I served it with 1 apple that I pan fried in about 1/4 c. of water and 1 TB of cinnamon. I spread about 2 TB of cream cheese–or yogurt cheese–on it.

Yogurt Cheese

1 container of yogurt
Cheese cloth

1. Put the yogurt inside of a piece of cheese cloth and wrap it up by tying opposite corners together.
2. Hang over a bowl. I used a pencil to suspend the cheese cloth package.
3. Let drip for about 6 hours.
4. Amazing, AMAZING, AMAZING. Get the full fat, berry, or fat free yogurt and you’ve got homemade cream cheese. It’s Fab.

Fun new recipes..I love it. Pancakes are so classic. Did you parents ever make you ‘Micky Mouse’ Pancakes growing up? Mine did!

mickey mouse

As I have stated last night I am working on make some life goals for myself. The wesbite ‘The Art of Non Conformity‘ has got me thinking a lot about my life. Where I want to be, What I want to do, Who I want to become.

There’s a fabulous article on Chris’ website called ‘How to Conduct Your Own Annual Review‘. The premise of this article..which comes with an excel attachment you can type away in–I love that..is that you should have an annual review of your life. I decided to start in May..why not?

One category I want to focus on is ‘Personal Development‘. My goal is ‘Read more‘. My method is ‘Read 10 classic novels‘. Deadline: Dec 2009. So last night I called my friend Nicole, because she went to some swanky private school where they read all the classics. I went to some public schools where they prayed and hoped that students would maybe read one novel a semester–ok that may be a bit not fair–I had good teachers. So the novels?

1. To Kill a Mockingbird

P1011199
2. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
3. Of Mice and Men
4. Othello
5. Pride and Prejudice
6. A Tale of Two Cities
7. The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
8. The Chosen
9. Catcher in the Rye
10. The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe

I am excited: 1. For the Annual Review. 2. To start reading classic novels. I am honestly going to make a time line of my goals…and then I’ll post them all for you. I really suggest that you go for it. I am a visual, organised, neurotic creature who thrives on these things. It’s tangible and honestly I am excited about placing some goals for myself. Chris says that his completion rate is about 80% which I think is awesome.

I want to end this ‘longer than I thought it would be post’ with the fact that I feel great. Earlier this week I really wanted to pack my bags up and move home. There’s still a part of me which will probably always toy with his decision for awhile. However, getting out and playing today has really lifted my spirits. It is SO nice to have people to play with who have nothing NOTHING to do with work (if you’re a co-worker reading this it has nothing to do with you, except the fact that I’ve spent the last 2 1/2 years only hanging out with co-workers) It was so nice to be played for 70 minutes and BEG my coach to take me off to get a break. Being forward was also a huge boost. ‘You’re fast/This is only your first time playing?/(coach walking over to me) Great job today’ were all amazing.

Smiling, tired, and exhausted.

6 thoughts on “Going back to the Classics

    • Mish says:

      Thank you Chris. I am so excited. I honestly feel a huge mental weight has lifted off my shoulders and my snow has settled in my ‘snow globe’ mind. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

