A Woman’s Best Friend

Today is my last day here at Bakhita. I honestly can’t believe it. I went down to the clinic today to get my wound washed with alcohol…let me tell you it isn’t fun. Mana (Sister) Betty gave me about 1 kg of fresh organic roast Timorese Coffee. Anders said ‘this stuff at Oxfam is 18.50 for 250g’. I feel very lucky. It smells amazing.

I feel like I need to spend a bit of time talking about one of my most favourite parts of this whole trip—the dogs.

There’s Shiver

 P1012201P1012205P1012194

There’s Benji

 P1012200

P1012196
There’s Toby

P1012204P1012202

They say dogs are a ‘man’s best friend’. I beg to differ. There’s nothing like drinking coffee with an amazing dog.

P1012199

5 thoughts on “A Woman’s Best Friend

    • Mish says:

      Yeah it’s my last day at Bakhita. I am a bit sad, and so glad that I came here…it’s almost overwhelming. Many wouldn’t think of this place as relaxing. However, it’s been one of the most powerful things that have ever happened to me.

  1. Noturus says:

    I found your blog searching for dogs, and I’ve spent the last half hour reading your posts. Very compelling and interesting reading. Thanks for sharing…

    • Mish says:

      Thanks for stopping by. It’s amazing that no matter where you are dogs always bring a smile to my face.

  2. Michelle says:

    Michelle, It’s been wonderful to share your adventure! I have to be honest I had never even heard of Timor before you went and when I read a little about the history of it I was a little nervous. It sounds like you have had a wonderful time (besides the sacrificial offerings). We miss you and hope you have a wonderful 4th of July and remember to celebrate like an American (hot dogs, beer and some fireworks if possible). Love Auntie Michelle

Leave a Reply

