Mom….

In the huge super mall in Darwin Australia. Living on three hours of crappy sleep with tired eyes and a hungry stomach

“Mom, I just wanted to call and tell you that I am happy and healthy and home from Timor” I say excitedly with a tinge of somber quality due to the fact that it reminds me of the amazing time I have left behind

“Michelle, that is awesome!” my mom repeats excitedly

“I just wanted to call you and tell you that I have my spirit back. I have my faith in myself back, my strength back. I had the most amazing experience of my life. I wouldn’t change it for anything. I have never experience something so amazing in my whole life. I am as high as a kite, glowing. I feel like I need to move home and become a nurse. To travel the world, but base myself in Oregon.”

“Michelle, I am so happy to hear you saying that!” I could hear her say through a smile I knew that she had one her face. “It’s so nice to hear you so happy, and back to where I know that you are as a person. Letting go of the pressure and negative things that you and other people were saying about you. As far as nursing school, let’s talk about it later. But you have to do what makes you happy”

“Mom, I am so happy. I think that nursing school would enable me to give back to the world in ways that I can’t give back right now. I realised that the family of Bakhita have shown me the importance of being around me family and feeling that love and support. I just don’t have that in Fremantle” I say objectively

“I love you” she says back

Big decisions. Nursing school and leave in six weeks or start in January in Australia. Decisions. Decisions.

2 thoughts on “Mom….

  1. Michelle says:

    Wow, it’s awesome to read all that this trip has done for you Michelle. I’m sure you will do amazing things (and be an amazing nurse!) no matter what you decide!

  2. Rosetta Venell says:

    So glad you are considering nursing. I have always believed that was the profession in which you could fulfill your dreams.

Leave a Reply

