Insight through Timor’s food

A lot of people would ask me: “What are you going to be doing in Timor?”

I would respond: “Not too sure really. Just enjoy the experience. However, Anders did mention writing a cookbook. So, yeah probably being in a kitchen a lot”

I have to say that the food in Timor has a lot of salt and oil. HOWEVER, the way that they eat it so different from the way that we eat. Instead of minimal rice and tons of mains…they eat tons of rice (no oil and/or salt) and little mains (salt/oil).

Breakfast:

P1011958

Morning coffee. Liquid Heaven

P1012007

Boiled sweet potato.

P1012006

Boiled Tapioca Root. When I first saw it I thought to myself ‘where’s the butter?’. However, after eating it..it doesn’t need butter. It’s honestly amazing on it’s own.

P1012411

Paun–bread. Made at night, left to rise, then cooked over a campfire. Amazing!

P1012008

Fried/salted sweet potatoes. Honestly, I could have eaten the whole plate. But didn’t. I loved them. They’re amazing.

Lunch/Dinner:

P1012004

Eggplant w/ a cooked cabbage, hard boiled egg, and tuna salad

P1012087

“Bok Choy” w/ mushrooms, sweet potato leaves and fried hard boiled eggs

P1012191

Fried Tofu and Temphe in a tomato sauce–amazing!, the most amazing salad ever and fried veggies.

P1012338

Beans slow cooked for hours w/ carrots, potatoes, green veggies…so tasty..not even going to lie about it.

P1012383

Fried chicken…so tasty. I swear it’s all in the salt.

P1012394

Ramen Noodle/2 Minute noodle dish

P1012397

“Beefy” slow cooked beef w/ egg and amazingness. It was so good

Snacks:

P1011943

These little small bananas that were sold by road side vendors was honestly the best thing ever. They tasted like they had been injected with honey. Man they were delicious!

P1012446

Fried/salted bananas—delcious

It’s been interesting coming back. The first day back in Darwin I could feel myself slipping back into my old eating patterns, because everything that I had ‘missed’ was there for me. Then I went to bed with a sick belly and thought to myself..this is stupid.

Sunday was good.

Today at work I struggled. I really struggled. I binged on cookies. Then I thought to myself ‘you’re eating because you’re wanting to avoid work and stress’. I forgave myself. I get it know. I understand my body and am not giving into the crap that I used to get myself into. I am not putting energy into the old patterns that I had. It’s so easy to slip into them. It’s so easy to fall back into the emotional dependency of food/crappy relationships that have once consumed my life.

Nope…not going to do it.

“It’s okay to get down once in awhile–as long as you don’t get down on yourself!”

Leave a Reply

