Steamy Windows

Good morning.

Last night I made a pact with myself that I wouldn’t take my computer to bed with me. Do you ever take your laptop with you in bed at night?

I have found that if I do, I end up staying up way later than I really want to. I also, for some reason, wake up a lot more tired. Anyways, I didn’t take my laptop with me. Instead I started reading the book ‘Mindless Eating‘ by Brain Wansink.

‘Mindless Eating’ is a book which he says is NOT a diet book. Brian writes in the beginning (p.10)

This book is not about dietary extrenism–just the opposite. It’s about reenginerring your environment so that you can eat what you want without guilt and without gaining weight.

It’s such an interesting read. When I finish it, I will post a review of it. One of the ideas which he presents early in his book is the idea of ‘Think 20 percent less’ (p.34-35)

Dish out 20 percent less than you think you might want before you start to eat. You probably won’t miss it. In most of our studies, people can eat 20 percent less without noticing it. If they eat 30 percent less they realise it, but 20 percent is still under the radar screen.

The cool thing about this book is that it’s ALL based in research. ALL OF IT!

Well, I actually woke up this morning at 4am because I had this amazing soup in the crock pot and my tummy started to growl…it wanted some.

P1012808

But I also started to read his book again. It’s such a fascinating read, it’s all rooted in researched and it makes sense.

I dished out my cereal this morning, which is combo of different cereals, with 2 very small organic bananas, 1 TB of raisins and 16 almonds (this is something that he wouldn’t suggest doing..but I’ll touch on this later).

P1012806

I was honestly getting satisfied around 1/2 way and then kept eating. This is one of this things as well, if you dish it out you most likely will eat it all. Anyways, I thought to myself… ’20 percent less’. So I stopped.

P1012809

(soup trying dish and extra spoon…the soup is awesome..review to come).

I then looked up at my window.

P1012807

I instantly thought of the ‘Titanic’.

titanic

Oh to be Kate w/ Leo…in  car…

Off to do some yoga, then get ready for work. It was a three day long weekend….it was delicious.

Do you think that you can adopt the 20% less today?

~M

3 thoughts on “Steamy Windows

  1. Michelle says:

    Mmm that soup looks delicious!! Haha I love the Titanic reference… I remember seeing that movie in the theater when it first came out with my first ever boyfriend (we were in 7th grade) and feeling sooooo unbelievably awkward during that scene.

    • Mish says:

      That’s so cute. I remember seeing the movie about the same time. I remember all of the girls being obessed with it.

  2. Nicole says:

    Hahaha! I love Titanic and any reference to it. I was just talking about it today, actually 🙂

    One time I was on a road trip and I had to sleep in my car one night and I woke up and the whole car was cloudy like that and I obviously had to do the hand thing!

Leave a Reply

