Babys Got (A) Back

This morning I was getting ready for work with my I-Pod Shuffle in..and this song came on.

I sang..and sang..and sang. Maybe even with my hair spray can..don’t tell anyone. You know that you’ve done it! 😉

Work, schmerk. It actually dawned on my today that I have less than 10 weeks left. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!

In ten weeks I will be (fingers cross and God willing)

  • Into a university
  • Signed up for at least 64,000 worth of debt
  • Moving out of my house
  • Maybe selling stuff
  • Broke as a joke 🙂
  • Maybe travelling across the WHOLE of Australia w/ my friend Jena to make it to Sydney for New Years!
  • Maybe going to Timor
  • Student Visa lodged into the immigration database
  • Calm
  • BURNING MY SKIRT

Wait. So what I am telling myself is that I am going to be quitting a secure job, to take on 2 years worth of salary that equals my total debt for my Masters of Nursing Science?

Yes..That’s what I am saying.

I freaked out this morning and called my mom

‘Hi Mom’
‘Hi, how’s it going’
‘Good. What are you up to?’
‘I have just canned 36 jars of homemade tomato sauce, with roasted red bell pepper, chilis. It was the last of the 90lbs that I have done. I think I might move onto apples. What’s up?’
‘I am freaking out. I mean Mom, I am going to be taking on over 60,000 worth of debt and I don’t know if I am going to be getting in and I don’t know and AHHHH MOM! Please tell me it’s gonna be ok’
‘Michelle, you’re making the right decision. Remember when you’d go swimming?’
‘Yes’
“You just gotta jump in. It’s gonna be a harsh adjustment at first, but you’ll adjust very quickly.’

So, with that I went and spent 400.00 today getting medical exams for my student visa. Going to the immigration office for medical exams is such a powerful experience. There are people from ALL OVER the world trying to ‘tick’ all the boxes to study, work, migrate to Australia. Everyone has a story..everyone!

After two hours of everything, of which I have to go back next week, I decided to stop by and get a fresh squeezed juice. ‘Wild Thing’ 🙂

P1012876

P1012877Yeah, that’s right GARLIC baby! YUMMY. I would DEF get it again! Try it next time if you can.

I was walking through the department stores to get back to the train station (did I ever mention that I LOATHE department stores?) Anyways it’s time for the Melbourne Cup (Kentucky Derby of Australia) and boy..do those hats come out.

I had to give it a go (give it a try)

P1012879P1012881I like the first one best!

I then stopped by a clothing store. I haven’t bought any new clothes in SUCH a long time, because I don’t want to at my current weight. Instead, here’s a trick, if you’re not able to spend tons of money on clothes, or don’t want to buy clothes…then stock up on accessories..that’s what I’ve been doing.

However, I wanted to just trying something on. Sometimes it helps to give you a little spring in you step..something to work towards.

I tried this dress on.

P1012882

It didn’t work for me, it was too thin w/ the cotton. Nope.

P1012884
HOWEVER, I love LOVED the back.

I have never thought about my back as being a favourite body part…but I love my back. So, there you go..I choose my back. So if and when I get married..backless dress like this baby!

Alright…I am going to hit the hay. Have been reading a new book. Am going to update my ‘Double Dog Dare You‘ page with my results of this week..and a new challenge for myself this coming week. Also, my last two F-Words of Success posts are going up this week!!!

What part of your body to you like?

~M

7 thoughts on “Babys Got (A) Back

  1. healthy ashley says:

    I love the positivity you give off. Your changes are big and might be overwhelming, but they are awesome! You can totally do it!

    How much fun with the hats 🙂 You look good in them!

    I love my back, too 🙂 It’s feminine and strong and that rocks.

    Have a good day!

  2. Esther Crawford says:

    I have issues with being satisfied with most parts of my body, but I really do like my face… and since that’s what I see the most in the mirror, it’s probably a good thing. 🙂

  3. Michelle says:

    Whooo congrats on deciding on nursing school! And as far as the debt goes, I have a minor panic attack every couple of weeks about the same thing. Don’t worry, it will be worth it in the end!

  4. Kat says:

    You look so sassy and cute in those hats! And I’m looking forward to the day I can wear backless dresses – it looked good on you! It’s quite random, but I have nice ankles/calves. For a bigger girl, my lower legs are quite skinny. 😀

Leave a Reply

