I did it because,

To say it frankly, I have been overwhelmed by the amount of people who have responded to my Exposed post. I didn’t write the post,to put my WHOLE body out there for the world to see because I wanted to parade myself around. BELIEVE ME

I did it because I am TIRED of women/men thinking that they are inadequate because they do not fit into a perfect size.

I did it because the Ralph Lauren ad is something which is being paraded around and endorsed as acceptable by industry moguls

I did it because, as Jo-Lynne wrote, size 12 is not plus-size.

I did it because I am fearful, honestly, of raising girls in a world where they are constantly subjected to the ‘ideal’ of which is filtered through high standards of what is ‘good’ and photoshopped to the T.

I did it because I want men to feel as though they don’t have to tap into the pressures of the hard rock bodies plastered everywhere.

I did it because I want women to feel comfortable in their skin regardless, to love themselves and feel comfortable in front of their partners.

I did it because my heart aches for the e-mails I get from people–GORGEOUS people–who binged like me, who hate their bodies, who everyday obsess about food, their post baby body changes, exercising, and negative thoughts.

I exposed myself so that everyone can look at themselves in the mirror each morning and knock back one negative thought and put a positive there. If that is what I can do…mission accomplished. There are gonna be good days, there are gonna be bad days, there are gonna be ‘damn I look hot’ days and ‘damn I look flabby’ days.

Whatever day you’re having, remember that there is something about your life that you can expose which is beautiful.

~M

10 thoughts on “I did it because,

  1. Tracey @ Tropical Happiness says:

    Just thought you should know… in that picture below… YOU. ARE. GORGEOUS!
    You (and that picture) will be an inspiration to soooooo many. You will be an inspiration to more women than you will ever know, because so many will see your picture and read your words, and although they might not comment or say anything to you, they will, for maybe just as second, believe that they ARE good enough. And that is priceless.
    I truly, truly commend you for your post!!!!!

  2. Christa says:

    I worry about my girls everyday- I don’t want them to feel like we feel, I know that it’s going to happen but I know I can prepare them now by building up who they are and that what they look like doesn’t define them. I thought what you and Esther did is very brave and very refreshing. After many, many years of hating my post baby body I’m starting to feel like myself again and I feel beautiful, stretch marks and all! Lots of love you and your cause.

    • Mish says:

      I think that thing I always think about is how much my weight/body image issues affecte my relationship (Which was sparked by it). However, I don’t want to be this negative person in a relationship because I am feeling fat/ugly/guilty. I think it’s such a powerful thing to give to you girls…a mom who loves her body and who is healthy for the right reasons.

  3. allisonleigh says:

    I don’t plan to have kids, but I worry about MYSELF everyday. I have a terrible self-esteem (something I am working on!) and I always pick and prod at myself in the mirror. I am learning to accept myself more and more each day and when I saw your post, well lets just say there was a flood in my house. I cried so much with joy that I vowed I would be happy with myself as I slowly lose weight. Thank you for the honesty and intelligence of what it really means to be a woman.

  4. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Yes, you have got lots of people thinking about themselves in a more positive way.

    But I think it is the blurred line between most women wanting to look good (fussing about hair, make up,clothes – something that men don’t generally do) and yes, this idea of perfection. I think once you start on that curve – the fussing about how you look – it is hard to stop. Its a shame we can’t bring up our girls just to be – not to look in mirrors at all, not see us doing it and rely on good-hearted souls to tell them when they have food hanging off their chin.

    But I know that will never happen. But I never let my daughter see me fussing about my appearance or anything like that. And she doesn’t fuss either.

    • Mish says:

      It just makes me aware that you have to be conscious of the things you say, and the way you act around young girls.

  5. abbynormally says:

    I think that your strength and self confidence is amazing! And everyone has something to learn from you and what you put out there! You did it because you put others before yourself and that is rare in this world!!!!

Leave a Reply

