a TRI me date

I have been saying that I have big news for you…and I do….

But first I got cooked for…aren’t I ONE lucky girl? Chris is my personal trainer/friend/advice giver. I called him up because I need help with my big decision and he offered to cook me lunch. How sweet is that?

On my way to his house I stopped through the markets and picked up this juice: carrot, celery, ginger, beetroot–AWESOME!

P1013047

These are the views today from the hill on the way to Chris’ house.

P1013050

Ohh..I got new shades: What do you think?

P1013051I brought over alcohol..because that’s what you do. Since I am gluten intolerant (no beer for this girl) and I didn’t want wine..I wanted some sparkly and amazing. So I got this AWESOME cider.

P1013053

This is what I brought Chris..what a lucky boy.

P1013054

I was treated with homemade Chicken/Mushroom/Aspragus Risotto

P1013057The an awesome salad w/ avocado/tom/walnuts

P1013055

During lunch I said to Chris:

‘I want to do a Triathlon next year in February.’
‘Mish, that’s awesome’ he said as he stirred the chicken
‘But there’s three categories and I don’t know if I should do the medium or long length?’
Mish, go for the long one. You know that you can do it. Also, you should do a smaller one before the big one in Feb.’ he goes
So, you think that I should do the one in three weeks time?‘ I say..with a worried look on my face
‘Yep’

I AM thinking GOING to be doing TWO Triathlons!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

First: Pink Triathlon — November 8th– EXACTLY 3 weeks from today!

Since its inception in 2007 The Ramsay Health Care Triathlon Pink Series has seen over 5,000 females cross a Triathlon Pink finish line and has raised over $180,000 for the series charity, the National Breast Cancer Foundation.

My grandmother suffered from Breast Cancer and is my rock. I think that I am going to do the medium amount: 200 meter swim, 6km bike ride, 2 km run. Maybe, I’ll get up to the 300m swim/9km ride/3km run…but we’ll see. 🙂 It will be good for me to start out in a non-competitive situation and do it for my GRANDMA!

Second: Women’s Triathlon — February 28th 2010 — 4 1/1 months from now!!!!
The race categories are as follows:

Race 1:  150m Swim/5km bike/1.5km run–too easy

Race 2:  300m swim/7.5km bike/3km run–this is what my gut says

Race 3:  750m swim/20km bike/5km run–this is what I am shooting for

THIS IS HUGE FOR ME! SERIOUSLY…crazy.  I have been dealing with is a TOTAL shift in my mind from this:

I want to lose weight. I am not losing it enough. I can’t seem to stop binging. I hate working out. I am exhausted.

-to this-

I am now focusing my life on living healthy. Eating in moderation. Stopping when I am full. Making a positive routine around exercise.

I feel free. I pray that all women who battle with weight, find the peace from the negative stuff that plagues so many.

My mind was reeling. I have so much that I need to do:

  • get a swimming suit
  • googles
  • bike tires pumped up
  • go to the pool
  • get a training program
  • BELIEVE I WILL AM

After lunch, we headed down to a local beach to SOAK in all of the amazing sun. I sat with my feet in the sand as the boys jumped in the ocean.

P1013064P1013067

I know that I can do these Triathlons. I am going to have a really good think about what I need to get done, look up training programs tonight and search out some Tri blogs 🙂

What is something that you’ve done..that you never thought you’d do?

~M

12 thoughts on “a TRI me date

  1. fitlizzio says:

    I never thought i’d be able to compete in a fitness competition and actually came in 2nd place at my first show! it is amazing what we are capable of when we believe in ourselves.

    Definitely go for the longer race! 🙂

  2. Katherine says:

    I’m so excited for you and so proud of you! I’m glad you’re doing the small one first to “get your feet wet” and to honor your grandmother – that’s so great! If it were me, I’d go for the medium race to work up to the big one, but again – that’s just me, and I’m a little bit of a wuss. Like fitlizzio said, it’s amazing what we’re capable of when we believe in ourselves! Since you’ve got this great positive attitude, if you committed to the long race, you would totally take it on and rock it! I’m looking forward to hearing about your training!

  3. missyrayn says:

    I’m so excited for you. I eventually would love to do a tri. My friend thinks I can butt it would require lots of training for me especially for the swimming.

    For me the biggest thing that I thought I would never do is run after back surgery. I actually run faster now than before and I’m loving it. My latest race I ran 4 miles in under 45 minutes.

  4. Michelle says:

    Oh my gosh, I am SOOOOOOOOOO excited for you!! A triathlon sounds so fun and I can’t wait to hear all about your training! I think you can definitely do it, believe in yourself!! Think how accomplished you will feel after completing the training and race.

    Something I thought I would never do is run 13 miles, and now I’m registered and training for my second half-marathon and a full marathon!

    • Mish says:

      woo hoo another 1/2 marathon. I may get there some day. I am looking forward to the tri because it isn’t all the same.

  5. Bek says:

    YOU CAN DO the long Avanti! I did the Pink tri last year and went onto do the Avanti! Of course you can do the long one. I always think “Can I cross the finish line” If the answer is yes…don’t worry about times etc, just that you can move through the water, on the bike and through the run/walk/ralk….and if you can do it…DO IT!
    It is the most empowering experience ever. I had bib number one in the Avanti and came 3rd last. There was so much support at the back of the pack. People were awesome! You’ll be well and truly bitten by the tri bug! Be careful!

    • Mish says:

      we should meet up. seriously. you’re only the 2nd blogger I’ve found in Perth and you’re doing the TRI! 🙂

Leave a Reply

