sssssllllloooowwww lane

This morning I PEELED myself out of bed at 5:30am.

The question always becomes..how do you stay motivated when training for something?

Answer: My grandma!

The Pink Tri that I am training for..which is November 8th–holy god 2 1/2 weeks away—is raising money for breast cancer research. My Grandma and apparently my great grandmother (didn’t know until today) both had breast cancer. My grandmother had a double mastectomy in the early 80’s and has struggled with intense shoulder pain and limited movement due to the surgery. SHE’S NEVER GIVEN UP!

Last night I wrote her this e-mail..of which promptly made me cry:

also wanted to tell you that I am running a triathlon (swim/bike/run) for you. It’s to raise money for Breast Cancer. I am going to put a sign on my shirt that says ‘For my Grandma Farm, because she never gave up’

I will be running for you. For all the pain you endured and for all the love that you’ve given. It’s Nov 5th..I just wanted you to know.

If my Grandma can do it… I can do it!!!!

I got to the pool, jumped in the SLOW land and got going. I had to do some pep-talk with myself last night because when I am trying new things or in new social sitatuations I always find a way to get out of it. NOT THIS TIME.

P1013129

The coach gave me some pointers. I didn’t have ANY of the equipment that I needed: paddle board, hand fins, fins, etc. However, I did ONE WHOLE HOUR of swimming. I may  have sat out for one lap and I may have been passed. I NEVER GAVE UP!

I really enjoyed swimming. It helped with the tightness in my hamstrings and I look forward to it again on Friday.

I powered up with an AWESOME Choco-tien Green Monster. I’ve been having one every morning.

  • 2 1/2 small organic banana
  • 1 tb cocoa powder
  • 1 tb psyllium husk
  • 1 tsp flax seed
  • 2 TB protein powder–natural
  • 2 1/2 c. spinach
  • 1 1/3 c. rice milk

P1013130P1013131

I have recruited TWO new people to join me in my race when I go home to America in 4 1/2 weeks. I’ll let you know later today..any guesses?

What thing in your life have you always wanted to try, but haven’t yet?

~M

Twittering
Eating
Training

16 thoughts on “sssssllllloooowwww lane

  1. julie says:

    yay!! this really rang a bell with me…”I had to do some pep-talk with myself last night because when I am trying new things or in new social sitatuations I always find a way to get out of it. NOT THIS TIME.”
    –I do the same thing!! It’s motivating to see you overcame it. Best of luck at the tri!

    • Mish says:

      I have to remind myself sometimes that I am not going to be number one, the fatests, the prettiest…but I am going to be me.

  2. allisonleigh says:

    Boxing. I have always wanted to box. Not cardio kickboxing, but straight up martial arts style boxing. One day…

    Love your hard work Mish. I can tell a difference in your posts already! Keep it up- you are an inspiration.

  3. Bek says:

    Hey Mish,

    In a weird coincidence I found your blog through Mizfit and I am in Perth, doing the pink tri too! it is a magical event, I did Melbourne and Perth last year and went on to do 3 more in the regular season. They were great fun! I love your blog, glad I found it, Will cheer for you on 8th!
    Cheers
    Bek

  4. nic. says:

    I’m extremely inspired by your blog and I’m so glad I found it. Not only are you super creative in the kitchen, but you’re doing what I’ve always wanted to do – a Triathlon.

    I started training for a 10 mile run last month, just to keep my stamina up through the winter months (I live in Minnesota) but I really want to train and do a sprint Tri in the spring. …and I think I will.

    allison: do it. I started taking boxing lessons and it makes me feel like an all star! Not only that, but learning the boxers shuffle has improved my run time!

  5. missyrayn says:

    I’ve always wanted to try spinning and kickboxing. Right now I don’t have a gym near me that offers them. But I want to try them when I move to a bigger area.

    I love that you give yourself peptalks. On my runs I sometimes have to do that so I can keep going when my mind wants to give up but my body is fine.

  6. Diana says:

    Good for you 🙂 I had a bit of a hard time when I started going to the gym. I was (still am) pretty out of shape but you know what, I’m doing something about it. I’m trying to change that so it’s ok.

    I have a lot of stuff I want to do.. Baby steps. 😉

Leave a Reply

