Coach Annie…I’m gonna need a massage

Today has been a bit slow..but I guess that’s how it goes on a humid/rainy day in the middle of spring.

I ate an orange and about 2 tsp. of organic/natural peanut butter, before heading out to have one of my favourite lunches at Cafe 55. Chan Chua.

P1013165

It’s a homemade sweet and sour broth w/ fresh veggies, TONS of chili and rice noodles. My tummy loves it.

I snacked on 1/2 c. apple sauce w/ 1 TB peanut butter and 1 carrot w/ 1/4. c. skinny hummus. I have been snacky all afternoon–I think it’s avoiding work..really. Opps. I may have bought a Pepsi Max.

I gave my original triathlon training program to my co-worker Annie to look at. Did I mention that she has ran an Iron(Wo)Man. She’s amazing. A great resource.

My original training program now w/ modifications

  • Monday: Run REST
    • 15 min run, 1 min walk, 10 min run, 5 min walk
  • Tuesday: Run: 15 run, 1 walk, 10 run, 5 walk
    • Swim and Bike
    • 1.2 km swim (4 x 300m w/ 1 min rests)
    • Bike (10 min steady, 20 minutes of intervals: 2 min hard, 30 sec easy, 5 minute cool down)
  • Wednesday: Swim and Bike
    • Swim: 1.2km 300 warm-up (50swim/50drill/50sw/50pull boyou/50sw/50kickboard) 2x200m w/ 40 sec rest, 4x100m w/ 20 sec rest, 2×50 cool down
    • Bike: 10 min steady, 20 min intervals (40 sec hard, 20 sec recovery), 5 min cool down
    • Swim
    • 1.4 km swim (4x 350m w/ 1 min rests)
  • Thursday: Bike and Run together
    • Bike 30 minutes and 5km run–gonna do them together
  • Friday: TEST RUN
    • 200m swim, 6km bike ride and 2km run–all in spandex baby
  • Saturday: REST
    • Run 20 min run, 1 min walk, 6 min run, 5 min walk
  • Sunday: Run
    • 25 min run, 1 min walk, 10 min run, 5 min walk

Today I was supposed to go running, but my body is SCREAMING at me to stretch out. You know the soreness where you can’t sit on the toliet..yeah that kind. Also my triceps..hurt to the touch.

I just booked a massage..YES.

I am off to the store to buy some yummy stuff for a friend’s engagement afternoon tea on wednesday. I will post the recipe for the most amazing and SIMPLE cake ever! If you like chocolate..you better stick around.

Do you get massages? What are your thoughts?

~M

14 thoughts on “Coach Annie…I’m gonna need a massage

  1. Miz says:

    remember to listen to your bod too.

    Im never one to encourage deviation from plan (I do that enough for myself) but I do take days off when my body is thisclose to an overall surrender 🙂

    SMART about the massage….totally worth it.

    Miz.

  2. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Oh yes, massages are just the best thing. I always feel wonderful after one.

    Am seriously impressed with your swimming schedule by the way. You are going to be sooooo fit, Michelle!

    I ran like a gazelle again last night after about 10 days of it feeling like an effort. I think that was because I had concentrated on the yoga stretches for a while. Well, it might have been.

  3. Brenda says:

    that sweet/sour broth looks so good!!
    I am just starting out in the running world, my goal is my first 5K next spring. I have never had a massage before, maybe it should be my pat on the back to myself after my first 5K. My problem would be getting myself to relax during it. I would feel the need to keep up a conversation to the massage therapist and not concentrating on the actual massage lol

    • Mish says:

      That is such an awesome thing that you’re doing..and more though such an awesome prize. I say book yourself one now and good luck with the 5km training.

  4. Ali says:

    Great idea with the massage. I WISH I could get one, but this college budget doesn’t always agree 🙂 I asked my ma for one for xmas though 🙂

    • Mish says:

      Ali, I have used a local community college/beauty school before for massages and facials—you must have one NOW. I would say look into that and knock yourself out.

Leave a Reply

