Friends

Throughout my time in Australia…and anywhere really…I honestly do struggle at times to find friends. I am admittedly a social person, but when it comes to letting people in, it takes a long time.

Friends are what you need at all times: happy, sad, disappointed, reeling over a broken relationship, workout motivation, life consultant, party instigator, etc.

best friends

The thing is that friends change, stay the same and take on different roles in your life.

Madi has been such an amazing blessing in my life. She has done nothing but support me and the mutual friends that we have! She is truly ‘the salt of the earth’ as some would describe and is the most beautiful and gracious person that I’ve met.

madi

Shes:

  • Doing a PhD at 23
  • She’s running a tri this weekend with me
  • She’s on a journey to better her health for herself
  • She’s learning to love and appreciate who she is
  • She’s developing a six-pack 🙂
  • CELEBRATING HER BIRTHDAY TODAY!

So HAPPY BIRTHDAY MADI!!!!! You’re a shinning star in my book!

I say to you…give your friends a little e-mail to say hi, a tweet to perk them up, a text to send some love…or if you can a hug to brighten both of your days.

Friends are your rock…they are your light…they are your strength!

FriendQuote5

What friend has helped you along your journey in life?

~M

7 thoughts on “Friends

  1. modernation says:

    Such a great post, Mish. Thanks. I used to think I needed as many “friends” as possible and realized that I was not letting anyone close to me and those people were really just acquaintances. I was spreading myself too thin. My friend philosophy now is quality, not quantity. I have a select handful of true friends who really get me and who I know would do anything for me and me for them. We have been there for each other through the best and worst of life!

    • Mish says:

      I agree totally with what you’re saying. I am good if I have about five close friends–with varying interests that keep me going.

  2. ervina says:

    I’d have to count you, yes you, as one of God’s blessings in my life for this year. We have come a long way since a year ago and I’m all the better through our friendship. Love ya…

    xoxo ervina

  3. Jul says:

    I can’t tell you how much I agree with what you wrote. I think of myself as a pretty friendly, kind, and easygoing person, but often I never make it past the “friendly acquaintance/fun to say hi to” stage of a relationship to “good friend” stage. (Boy, did that come out garbled. But you get my drift, I think.) Good to know I’m not alone! And glad you have such a good friend by your side. 🙂

  4. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Yes, I agree too. Like you I am not great at letting people in – it takes time. I am the opposite to you in that I am not particularly sociable and don’t need a lot of acquaintances.

    After what happened to me two years ago I determined that i would make much of my friends and I have done so. I have nurtured two close friendships (and those two people helped me get over my heartache and I think I have become a good supportive friend to them too) and made a range of new ones, some local and some online.

    It feels good!

    • Mish says:

      I think that’s the best part of friendships..in that you have to feel nurtured. As one person said before, it’s not about the quanity, it’s about the quality. People would often say to me ‘but you know so many people’. It can be a case of knowing a lot of faces, but not feeling known..if that makes sense.

  5. missyrayn says:

    Aww so sweet.

    My friend Beth is a huge support in all this. She was strong when I was struggling and she saw me get to this point. So she was inspired to do it herself. I’m so proud of her 🙂

Leave a Reply

