Vegan 4 A Week–the Low Down

Good Morning WORLD! My name is Michelle (Mish) and I am VEGAN!

That’s right kids..VEGAN 4 A WEEK! Monday 16th Nov- Monday 23 Nov

veganweek2
It all started with this announcement and a little LOT of work behind the scenes with Katy @ SillyTaterTot to coordinate the masses for this week.

Let’s talk about WHY I would do this?

  • I like challenges
  • I watched Food Inc. and will never eat meat again which is industrial grown if I can
  • Do I really need meat to survive?
  • How do vegans survive if they are budding athletes?
  • I like learning

WHAT is a Vegan? Do Vegans only eat apples and carrots? (source)

Veganism is a type of vegetarian diet that excludes meat, eggs, dairy products and all other animal-derived ingredients. Many vegans also do not eat foods that are processed using animal products, such as refined white sugar and some wines. Most vegans also avoid the use of all products tested on animals, as well as animal-derived non-food products, such as leather, fur and wool.

HOW is this week gonna look?

  • Guest posts throughout the week
    • Triathletes
    • Bakers
    • Everyday Vegans
  • Giveaways
  • VEGAN FOR A DAY- Thursday 19th November

    • THIS IS FOR YOU!
    • Thursday eat all day vegan, or just one meal.
    • We’ll be tracking all of the Vegan eating throughout the day, all over the world.
  • Daily Posting
    • Each day throughout the week, Katy and I will be posting our thoughts on begin Vegan and what we eat.
    • New recipes from us
    • Insight into our shift into the Vegan World
    • Follow me here, Follow Katy here
  • Special Posts by Katy and I
    • Weight loss and Veganism
    • Vegan Beauty Products
    • Celebrity Vegans
    • Traveling and being Vegan

So let the animals Roam Free! I am excited about this week, it’s gonna be awesome. Follow us on Twitter (eatingjourney) (kwidrick) and hastag (#veganweek).

So…what are you thoughts?

~M

 

27 thoughts on “Vegan 4 A Week–the Low Down

  1. Marisa (Trim The Fat) says:

    I’m excited for Thurs! I already have a few recipes in mind! Tried one this morning for Fat Free Pumpkin Raisin Biscuits from Fat Free Vegan Kitchen. You can check out my post tomorrow – they were great!

  2. missyrayn says:

    I love that you added the vegan for the day. I wanted to do this but don’t have the time to do it all week. One day is totally doable.

    I’m excited to see your eats for the week.

  3. FitBunny says:

    Hi!
    I just stumbled on your blog today. I think it’s great that you’re eating Vegan for a week. I’ll join in for one day. I recently started eating Vegetarian, so it will be a great challenge for me.
    I noticed the link to the Girls on the Run race…I live in the Willamette Valley. Good luck on your vegan challenge!

    • Mish says:

      We are so excited that you’re going to join us. WOO HOO! It’s gonna be great. BTW love the title of your blog…it’s makin’ me hungry

  4. Katie (Sweet Tater) says:

    how crazy! i went to bed yesterday with my mind made up that i’d be vegan this week (i’ve been a vegetarian for about 8 years). then i saw angela at oh she glows post a link here. so i was planning to do it and didn’t even know it was an event. looking forward to it!

  5. Aisha says:

    I would love to join this challenge, I’m having such a hard time converting to veganism. I used to be, now I am just vegetarian and am trying quite hard to cut out all forms of animal products but it is taking a while.
    Sorry for the babble, I found this due to the link on Angela’s blog. I would love to announce this on my blog also if that is ok?

  6. Christine says:

    I’ m in-vegan for a day-great idea-I have been moving more and more towards a plant based diet and trying to lose all the diet talk that we need protein from animal sources-

Leave a Reply

