Going Home

Right now, as you’re reading this, I am navigating the security check-ins, baggage claims, immigration and VEGAN airline food that is required for international travel.

I am GOING HOME! Home to the farm

Home to my family

A place where my soul feels as ease (I am crying writing this)

The biggest thing, is that it has been a year since I was in hospital in Japan, carrying and IV bag from one hospital to another on the 2 hour bullet train in Japan. Smiling through two days of thinking that I was going to die, to the idea of emergency surgery, to cancer, to having my diet and life totally changed. My family hasn’t been directly a part of my illness, because it happened on the way back from my visit. It’s all be through phone calls and e-mails. They’ve been there, through it all.

A whole freaking year of change, progress, and building of myself. I have only been able to reflect upon my life over the past year with the knowledge that my growth is due to my family.

No matter how long I live in Oz…Oregon will always be home.

When do you feel at ‘home’?

~M

14 thoughts on “Going Home

  1. Erin says:

    It’s an overwhelming feeling being home after so much time away. When I moved back to the US last month after a year in Korea, it was amazing to see how much things had changed and, at the same time, what had stayed the same while *I* changed.

    Home is where the heart is — but sometimes, your heart can be in two different places. 🙂

  2. Marie says:

    I just came back on the East coast after five years of living in beautiful Vancouver, Canada. It’s funny that while living in Vancouver I called the East coast “home”. Now that I’m back East, I feel like I left my home in Vancouver.

    In both place, I loved, laughed and cried. Maybe home is where a part of your soul still live.

  3. missyrayn says:

    I feel at home when my mom visits here. Her home is not mine and neither is my dad’s. My home is here and I feel homier when they visit us.

    Glad you are enjoying your time to go home with family 🙂

  4. Joanna says:

    I live in Nebraska and I’ve lived here for over 15 years. While I’ve never lived in Tennessee, that’s where my parents live and that is where I call home.

    Safe travels! Enjoy every minute!

  5. Shannon Fab Fattie says:

    I am so glad that I found you through MizFit! I am already in love with your blog. You are one of those gems that inspire others just because you are you.
    I am so excited for you going home and being with your family!

Leave a Reply

