My thoughts on Vegan Week

I have thought a lot about what it has meant to be Vegan, especially challenging myself to be vegan for the whole entire week last week. So what did I learn throughout the week?

  1. It’s not that hard to be vegan
  2. It’s harder to go out if you’re vegan
  3. I did miss eggs
  4. It has made me SO aware of the animal products in food, clothing, beauty equipment, and even animal food
  5. I felt AMAZING eating a vegan diet…for the most part
  6. It challenged me to think ‘outside of the box’ when making recipes/food

When I say ‘the most part’ I am finally understanding my stomach. I am convinced that beyond gluten, dairy, sugar and alcohol that I can’t eat…Fiber is a MAJOR culprit in making me not feel well. However, fiber is something that is in fruits, vegetables and whole grains. This is the essential underpinning of a vegan diet. My stomach and intestinal tract is the most important thing for me right now. I am not exactly sure ‘what I have’ however I know that meat and rice (basic, basic) is what helps to take the pain and runs to the toilet away.

Thus…I will eat meat. I know..start throwing stones at me. I will chose the following when eating meat:

  1. I will only buy and serve organic and free range meat
  2. I will only buy and serve organic and free range eggs
  3. I will make and effort to eat more seafood then chicken/beef/pork
  4. If served meat, I will use my own discretionary caution in how much I eat.

I have to admit that being vegan wasn’t that hard. I never felt disgusting after meals, so even the meat which I may eat won’t be that much when compared to how much I may have eaten before.

Overall the whole experience, for myself, being vegan was awesome. I would also like to say that the response that Vegan Week and Vegan -4-A- Day garnered was more than ANYTHING I could have imagined. When Katy and I innocently talked about his week via Twitter, we never thought it would have catapulted the way that it did. I know that it made more people aware of their food choices and that is really what I hope this week would bring.

The last and most important thing, is that I owe Katy a HUGE THANK YOU. We chatted on g-mail, twitter, and even over the phone. She was organised, lovely and such a help. I owe her so much credit in this whole weeks’ success. I am just sad that I will probably never meet her. (her husband Lucas deserves a gold star as well, he did the whole week)

Thank you again for all of your support. Although I may eat meat….I feel as though this week has changed the way I look at food.

Has your opinion of food or the way you’ve eaten changed over your life?

~M

11 thoughts on “My thoughts on Vegan Week

  1. Rosa says:

    quitting casein/lactose dairy helped me with my stomach issues. No more runs to the bathroom or scouting out bathrooms while I am out in public–just in case. I don’t miss it. Well, I do miss pizza sometimes or chocolate even, but I don’t miss the effects after eating those things.

    Now, when you say fiber is a culprit for your stomach issues, I wonder if it is more of the gluten type of fiber. Maybe staying gluten and casein free(which are items that are usually eliminated when determining the offenders in our diet) will get your stomach back in order and allow you to continue eating the good fibrous food that are in fruits and veggies.

    • Mish says:

      Rosa, Thank you for that. I don’t eat brown rice, soy, gluten, sugar, alcohol, and dairy 🙂 I had an apple this morning and thought I was going to die. It doesn’t surprise me actually. It’s what the doctors said to me in Japan–actually when I first got sick—so here I go with one more thing down. I can eat things if they’re cooked…so lots of steamed veggies for this girl.

  2. missyrayn says:

    I used to only eat cheap quick and bad for you foods.

    Now I am more willing to spend the money to eat good for me and the environment foods. I’m more likely to eat at home than eat out. And I’m more like to not see fruits and veggies as waste of money.

    Overall my food choices are drastically different than they were in my younger years.

  3. sisrocks1996 says:

    I was an omnivore then a vegetarian then an omnivore and now a vegan. I’ve switched many times depending on where I was in life.

    Now I am making more of a point of eating what I LOVE rather then what people dictate to me.

    I like my veggies better steamed. I know veganism has cleared up my stomach issues which is good because I love to run and it was getting so bad I thought I was going to have to stop.

    • Mish says:

      I totally know what you mean about not wanting to run due to stomach problems. I totally get that. It’s one of the reasons why I stay away from things, cause I don’t want to run w/ a sore tummy.

  4. Nicole says:

    I hate to be the bearer of bad news about fish, but the overfishing/pollution of the fishing boats are not good for our environment either. Try reading: Sea Change. Although, it is not as hardcore as Food Inc., it will definitely make you feel guilty about putting fish in your mouth. I LOVE fish, but I don’t eat it as often. Now, with vegan week changing my views for the better, I’m going to try to go flexitarian!

  5. Rosa says:

    Goodness, Mish! I hope you can resolve those issues. I definitely know how stomach issues can be emotionally, as well as physically, troubling.

    I read today’s post, Wednesday, have you eliminated nuts to see if that is an issue too? For example, instead of eating the apple with almond butter, how about a banana with the almond butter. If you get sick, it is a culprit, if not, then all’s good. I know it is overwhelming to keep combining and eliminating.

    Did allergy testing come into play in Japan? Just trying to figure this out with you. I will shut up now.

    • Mish says:

      Thank you for your response. As part of a low fiber diet, nuts are out but almond butter isn’t. W/ bananas I can eat them super ripe or cooked. It’s weird. It’s annoying. But it’s my life 🙂 Thank you for your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

