8:38 Mile..omg!

I am stuffed with gut friendly Pumpkin Pie—it is great!

This morning I woke up at 5:15am to make myself some of these Berry Topped Pancakes. I ate about 2/3 of this…I was too full.

I drove through the fog to the race this morning, 5km Turkey Trot. Look at this gorgeous morning.

My sister’s boyfriend, Alex and I got ready for the big race.

I was inspired to wear a little note for all behind me.

We were off. It was drizzling down, freezing cold, my hands were numb–and my body LOVED it. I told myself that I had to leave everything on the pavement…I didn’t want anything left with me.

I did.

I just went, I ran, I ran hard. I came up to the 1 mile marker and looked down at my watch

8:38

WHAT?!?!?! an 8:38 mile. Are you freaking kidding me!!!! I pretty much had to hold back tears. Here I am 100lbs lighter, with stomach issues this whole year, hating running…and now pulling an 8:38 mile! I almost started bawling, but I just kept running.

Mile 2: 8:40.
It wasn’t that bad. However, I knew that I had to reserve some energy but I didn’t want to get behind. I want to blast this race. There was a girl who passed me and then I caught up with her. I looked down and she had a Garmin on her arm (I thought of Caitlin). We chatted for a bit and I asked her what pace she was running. She goes ‘8:51’. I am running a 8:51 pace? What? AWESOME!

Mile 3: 9:20
I slowed down quite a bit on this last mile. There was a point when I could feel myself slowing down. I said to myself..’Michelle, do not hold yourself back!’ So I gunned it.

I crossed the finish line with this on my watch

I did it. Under 27 minutes! WOO HOO!!!!!!!! I am so proud of myself! I am so thankful that I am running. I am so thankful that I can say that I am a RUNNER!

There are moments in all of our lives when we reach beyond what we ever thought we could do. Today was one of those days!

Happy Thanksgiving Everyone!

What have you done that has surprised you?

~M

23 thoughts on “8:38 Mile..omg!

  1. missyrayn says:

    I had to read this post as soon as I saw you post it to twitter. I normally read things through my reader but I was so excited for you.

    That feeling of being a runner is truly awesome!
    Congrats on the awesome time.

    Running has been my biggest surprise accomplishment lately. I was never supposed to run again after back surgery but I’m faster than ever. I ran my 4 miler in July in less than 45 minutes when I was just aiming for under an hour. That made me in the top 50 for my age group. ME! So awesome.

    Congrats again and sorry for the long comment 🙂

  2. ervina says:

    Congrats, mish! i am so proud of you…here’s one BIIIIG hug for you from DownUnder!

    You go, girl! you can do anything you set my heart on!

    love, erv

  3. gemfit says:

    CONGRATS!!!

    That is beyond awesome!

    What have I done lately? I moved across the world again, this time for love, and I’m resettling, making new friends and navigating the whole freelancing thing. Oh, and planning a wedding. Everyday surprises me!

  4. Anna says:

    Congratulations! Also – I made the cornbread stuffing for today and people thought it was delish! Thanks for sharing 🙂

Leave a Reply

