Almost as good as Tequila

Before I start talking about being a lush…visit my guest post on Ashley’s site about Gluten and Gluten Free Baking/Cooking. Ok..now onto being a lush former lush 🙂

I have to say, that when people ask me ‘What’s the hardest thing to give up with your food?’ I usually respond with ‘Ice cream and tequila’. I love tequila. LOVE IT!

Therefore, my afternoon snack as inspired by tequila and the fact that I no longer drink alcohol for health reasons (it upsets my tummy). A shot glass filled with 1 TB of Cranmond Cinnamon Granola (gluten free) which is going to be avaliabe for purchase from Ashely’s bake sale (Wednesday), 1 TB of vegan chocolate chips and 1 TB of dried cranberries. The Cranmond Cinnamon Granola is gluten free, vegan, dairy free and has:

  • Almond butter
  • Maple syrup
  • Vanilla
  • Cinnamon
  • Rice Krispies
  • Dried cranberries
  • Almonds

It’s so damn good…and dangerously addictive. It’s the PERFECT topping for cereal, oats, smoothies in a bowl, or yogurt. It’s not too sweet, but has a lovely holiday taste to it. Yummy.

I invented a new recipe which I think you all will love..but I don’t think my tummy can take it anymore…no more apples for this girl 😦

Apple/Celery stuffed Sweet Potatoes

It was inspired by this recipe. I took the following and used for the insides.

You will need to roast a sweet potato for about 50-60 minutes at 400/200. Until you can scrap the insides out. Once it’s cooked. Take out of the oven to let it rest while make the inside stuffing. The stuffing to be added to the guts of the sweet potato.

  • 1/4 of onion diced
  • 1 stalk of celery diced
  • 1 apple, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 of a chili diced
  • 2-3 cloves of garlic pressed
  • 1 TB EVOO

Sautee for about 3-5 minutes over medium to high heat

  • 1 apple, peeled, cored and diced
  • 1/2 c. of water

Add apple and water of to the mixture until water reduces. About 6-8 minutes

  • Scoop out the guts of the sweet potato and add to the mixture cooking of the stove.
  • Spoon the mixture back into the hallowed out shells

Bake for another 10-15 minutes. You can add cheese if you’d like.

It was tasty. I only had about 1/2 of the sweet potato and the fiber from the apple and potato combined started to affect me. Dang it. I ended up having 1 c. of rice krispies, 1/2 c. of granola (all up tonight), 1 1/2 TB of chocolate chips, 1/3 c. of frozen blueberries and 1/2 c. of almond milk for a little post-dinner snack.

I watched A&E TV all night. Intervention and Hoarders was on. I can’t pass up real-life drama. I was happy to see while I was watching tv, painting my nails, and Twittering that Brandon had put up pictures of the hike. Enjoy!

What is your drink of choice?

~M

16 thoughts on “Almost as good as Tequila

  1. Mike Morales says:

    Sorry to hear that you’ve sworn off tequila.

    Have you tried sipping on 100% de agave tequila instead of “mixto.”

    Much easier on your stomach, and still a healthy choice beverage along with wine and microbrewed beers.

    Just a thought….

  2. Marisa (Trim The Fat) says:

    I love Intervention! I always hold me breath at the end when they update on the person’s recovery. Such a relief to see the ones who carry through and are sober!

    Love your beautiful nature pics!

    Not a big drinker, but if I had to choose, I always go for the “fruity and tropical” like pina coladas and margaritas!!!!

  3. Erin says:

    That shot looks ridiculously good. Oh my gosh! I’m not much of a drinker but in college tequila was my drink. Now I’m more of a white wine kinda gal. 😉

  4. Reluctant Blogger says:

    I love red wine – a smooth Rioja is my usual tipple. But in hot places I am drawn toward beers – Little Creatures pale ale was always good, but I love the Belgian and German beers – Leffe and stuff like that. I don’t like very sweet drinks.

    Beautiful photos. It looks perfect over there.

  5. missyrayn says:

    I don’t drink any more but when I did in college my drink of choice was sangria or baileys. I don’t really miss it too much but I haven’t had a drink in 7 years so that might have something to do with it.

  6. beverlee says:

    I took a tequila cooking class a couple weeks ago. learned a lot. got some 100% agave tequila for you to try on mock christmas. you will be amazed. Sauza and tequila’s like that are 49% tequila and 51% CHEMICALS…that’s why you get a headache and feel like shit after drinking it.

Leave a Reply

