My head is in ‘Berries on Ice’

I literally have done nothing today. Ok..I took a shower today at 11:30am and made some cherrio/peanut butter/marshmellow bars. I had about 1 1/2 of them and then I read though JackSh*t‘s post today Snakes and Ladders. He discusses the idea that weight-loss isn’t easy and it’s about getting your head in the game. He ends it with this

It’s not easy, and it’s not a game. It’s your life and a roll of the dice isn’t what gets you moving. It’s just you.

It’s so true. For me…it’s about eating foods that I can’t eat. It sounds SO stupid…to say that I still struggle with giving up gluten, sugar…it’s true. Today I made the cherrio bars and there’s NOTHING in them that I should be eating and yet I ate 1 1/2 of them. I didn’t binge (woo hoo). However, I read this and thought to myself ‘I can write all I want, I can b*tch all I want…but I have to get my head into the game’. I took my shower and thought about it. I’ve written about my struggles with binging, I’ve written about my struggles with body image and I’ve come to accept my body the way that it is. However, I feel sometimes that I still identify myself with the foods that I can’t eat. Still longing after them like a relationship that just isn’t over yet.

My head hasn’t totally been in the game…I stand to admit this. I am Michelle, and my head hasn’t been totally in the game.

But like JackSh*t says..it’s totally up to me. So I take a stand…My head is in the game. It’s in the mothertruckin’ game because I want AM healing my body and I want AM finding a health weight for my body.

After going through this mental conversation with myself, I got back on track this afternoon.

Veggie Burger Egged Salad

  • 1/4 onion
  • 1/3 zucchini
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • 1 egg
  • salad
  • 3 TB organic salsa

It was so yummy. However, I was a tab hungry about 2 1/2 hour later so I had one of my most favourite things..Iced berries. Have you ever done this before?

  • 1 c. frozen blueberries–place in a bowl
  • 1/3-1/2c. scant 1/4 c. cold milk of your choosing–pour right over the berries
  • 1-2 tsp. sweetener of your choice–I used xylitol
  • 1 TB vegan chocolate chips

Then stir up and the milk gets iced over. It’s honestly like eating ice cream. I LOVE IT. It’s such a healthy snack and the 1-2 tsp of sweetner with a moderate chocoalte chip sprinkling is just what you need. It just satisfies everything for me.

Ok…I am off to look through some pictures for the secret Christmas present for my Dad. Here’s one more picture to tease you..I hope that he isn’t reading 🙂

Pippin says hi.

Have you ever tried Berries on Ice?

~M

13 thoughts on “My head is in ‘Berries on Ice’

  1. Jennifer Y. says:

    I have never even heard of berries on ice, let alone tried it! It looks wonderful–I must try it!

  2. Jennifer Y. says:

    Oh, and PS – your pics are great! My dad would love a photo of the four of us. We are in 4 states all over the country.

  3. Lori (Finding Radiance) says:

    Pippin is the cutest thing!

    I don’t know if those struggles ever go away. The weight can go, but mental things may never leave completely – they just get buried and resurface at times.

    I can’t eat frozen berries because my teeth are too sensitive to the cold, but that looks soooo good!

  4. eaternotarunner says:

    Berries on ice! That looks so good, I have to try it 🙂 Good luck, I know it is so hard every day, but it is up to you! Or at least that’s what I’m telling myself :-/

  5. missyrayn says:

    I’ve eaten that snack before. It is so yummy like dessert. I’d forgotten though and I have berries in my freezer so that might be on the menu for tomorrow. I wonder if it would taste good with the new rice nog I just bought?

  6. FitBunny says:

    Mmmmmm…I love frozen berries. Grapes are yummy that way, too. =)
    That’s great to get a picture of you all together. The last time my sisters and I were all together was 2006…but I love looking at those pictures!
    I’m glad you’re having fun in Oregon…isn’t it beautiful here?
    PS – I have a cat named Pippen, too.

  7. Hannah says:

    This post really resonated with me–it reminded me of my past hellacious year and my constant need to change my attitude. So much happened that was out of my control, so much has changed, and it doesn’t seem fair that I had to change too, but it was either change or end up much worse; but that didn’t make it easier.

    Thanks for being so honest–I think that’s the most important thing for change. And I’m going to try berries on ice–sounds delish.

    • Mish says:

      I think the most important thing sometimes is to stop fighting and stop. Just stop in your tracks and say ‘this isn’t fun’. However, I can make progress if I do this. make each day the best that it can be. hang in there love. keep goin’!

Leave a Reply

