Coconut Girls

Today I got to spend six hours with my little ‘nieces’ (they’re actually my cousions’ girls) K and DJ are probably the cutest things in the world. I love them. I showed up at the right time this morning..after this…

  • 1/4 c. Cream of Buckwheat
  • 1/4 c. almond milk
  • 1 c. water
  • 1/4 c. pumpkin
  • 1 TB xylitol
  • 1/2 TB cinnamon
  • 1 heaping TB almond butter

For this….

A little prep work

A little lunch

A little chocolate rolling

A little bite

A little view

A little fun

Spending six hours with them was awesome. I went over for just an hour and then ended up having lunch, reading stories and talking with their Mom. Stephanie is a gorgeous woman, wife, mother, homemaker. Yes..she’s just like me..she struggles with weight, feeling pressure to be perfect. It’s nice sometimes to be able to play games, read stories and be open with women.

I stopped by an old shop full of men drinking beer and cutting up 130lbs of lamb. There’s gonna be a huge BBQ in Saturday night for everyone in the local community and the lamb BBQ is the essential component. We’re talking Lamb, beans, chips and beer. Conversation, memories, and catching up. I am SO excited. I got in my car and thought ‘You can take the girl outa’ the country, but you can’t take the country outa’ the girl’.

I then went up to my friend Susan’s house. I’ve known her since kindergarten (I don’t have a picture sorry from the time at her house..but here’s her wedding one.) I WANT her dress…and her body 🙂

Her mom reads..Hi Nancy! I got to see some old friends, like Stef and C. Talk about my blog with people (SO WEIRD when you meet people/friends who read) and just reminisce and catch up.

I loved it!

I stopped by my grandma’s house on the way home and snacked on frozen blueberries and made another batch of ‘Berries on Ice‘ with a little bit of Coconut Mint Ice Cream…only 1 serve this time.

I then had this monster ask me if I could make Oatmeal for him. Umm..no! But I can make you buckwheat cereal w/ almond milk, almond butter, maple syrup, cinnamon and sucanat.

I said ‘do you like it?’ and in a typical male response shrugs his shoulders and goes ‘yeah, it’s not bad’.

I currently have this monster sleeping by my feet in bed.

I think it’s time for this girl to hit the hay.

Would you ever or do you live in the country?

~M

21 thoughts on “Coconut Girls

  1. kilax says:

    Oh yum. Those coconut balls sounds so good.

    And I second cherrykitten – I want her body as well! And her dress is GORGEOUS!!! 🙂

    I would definitely live in the country. I like it to be quite where I live. And I don’t mind being far away from things (we are now).

  2. eaternotarunner says:

    Those coconut balls look awesome! I’ve never lived in the country! I am a city girl….kinda scared of the big outdoors 🙂

  3. 'Drea says:

    I love the picture of your niece (fourth picture) with her head back. It’s such a look of joy. Your other niece looks happy too but the “head back” pose is captivating.

  4. Lara (Thinspired) says:

    What a lovely day. I have little cousins or second cousins who I think of as more of nieces/nephews, too! They are adorable.
    Is that your handwriting? I love it! I’m a sucker for pretty penmanship 😉
    YAY for being home!

  5. Cynthia (It All Changes) says:

    I have cousins that I’m constantly having to tell people they aren’t my kids or nieces. But those girls are cute.

    I have lived in the country and it really isn’t for me. I prefer a little more hub-bub even though I currently live more country than I’d like for my job.

  6. Suz says:

    Hey Michelle thanks for the shout out! We LOVED having you over! So much fun to talk it feels like you never left!

    • Mish says:

      It was great hanging out. I haven’t seen stefanie for over five years..it didn’t feel like it at all. I wish you lived in NZ 🙂

  7. Amy says:

    That cat is HUGE! So fluffy. I’m too lazy for long haired animals, but I love other peoples’. 🙂 I like the idea of living in the country and with today’s conveniences I think it would be possible. The only concern I would have is if I’d feel safe out in the middle of nowhere by myslef because the hubby is gone about 6 months of the year.

    • Mish says:

      they are DANGEROUSLY good. You can also cover then in white chocolate…I wanted to add a hint of mint exract or crushed candy canes to them when I was making them. Let me know how it goes 🙂

Leave a Reply

