Transform Me

I was talking to my friend Robert Cheeke over lunch the other day.

He said to me ‘So many people live for the 2/7ths in the life.
‘What do you mean?’ I asked intrigued
Each week we have 7/7ths to work with. So many people live for the weekend, for the 2/7th of their life

I sat there and thought..that is so true.

  • What am I doing?
  • Why am I wasting my life?
  • Why am I not doing what I want to do with my life/body etc.

I looked at myself in the mirror before my race this weekend and thought to myself ‘I am ready to transform myself‘. I am ready to kick some ass with my working out, get the mindless snacking that vacation has brought on and bring God’s strength into the core of who I am.

I am losing weight.
I am toning my body.
I am listening to my body.
I am kicking my own ass.

I am not going to put weight goals on what I am supposed to be doing.
I am not going to write a list of the things that I can and can’t eat.
I am not going to make lofty goals.

To transform my ass I am going to do the following:

1. WATER
2. EXERCISE
3. FOOD

That’s it. In moderation. In good proportion. For me.

I have talked about the scale, but I want to bring it back into my life..not as a tool of validation..but as a check for me each week. To show that by following those three things you can get your body at a healthy weight range.

Transform Me has begun.

~M

20 thoughts on “Transform Me

  1. kilax says:

    What a great observation! I hate living for the weekend. It makes me feel so depressed. But sometimes, it does happen! I try to find a few things to look forward to each day, even if it is the time alone on the train when I read blogs 🙂

    Can’t wait to read more!

  2. All Women Stalker says:

    Hi! I’m happy for the decisions you have made. It’s going to be hard but I will be here to support you in your journey. Even if it’s just in spirit.

    One more thing I’d like to add to your To-do list: Rest. Don’t forget about that.

    Take care!

    -Denise

  3. Rosa says:

    I wonder if the scale is even necessary for the “check”. Just this morning before my a.m. workout, I weighed myself–205. Great! Down 14 lbs since I started my journey. However, I put on a pair of slacks that I thought would be too tight because they were tight about 5 lbs ago. I put them on and I didn’t have to suck in the gut or feel like I squeezed my cheeks into sausage casings. At that moment it was a reaffirmation that the scale doesn’t give me the full picture of all my exercise efforts. I am definitely going to use the scale because I have a ways to go toward my goal and the scale reaps little motivating rewards.

    Continued luck on your journey and transformation.

    • Mish says:

      that is so true as well. I am going to take my measurements as well and do monthly updates on those. It’s just a checking point..kinda like a rest stop on a long drive..the scale that is. Thanks for sharing that.

  4. amanda says:

    I have a hard time with this since I am currently unemployed. I am going back to school starting next year. ANyway, the weekend to me is usually time where my husband and I go out and do things. However during the week I kick ass at the gym and out running.

  5. All Women Stalker says:

    Hey Mish!

    No prob. Not getting enough rest is something a lot of people experience. And yes, it does affect the metabolism and energy levels we have during the day.

    -Denise

  6. Nicole says:

    I never thought about the 2/7 concept. That is crazy, but soooo true!!

    I think that the holidays definitely are a little bit more relax on the eating right and moving front for everyone. I think that it is great that you are aware of what it going on with your body, and you are not one of those people who wake up after a year or two and ask themselves, “how did I get this way?” Just don’t be too obsessed with it. I have a tendency to get that way if I think about it too much!

Leave a Reply

