Mock Christmas

I just want to say that I am HOME..HOME…In Fremantle. It’s been nice to be back in Australia..it’s been the longest day ever. I am currently sipping on Green Tea. My body is totally out of wack. It’s exhausted, yet it’s sunny outside.

Before I  left America, we had the 2nd Annual Mock Christmas. This was after the night of tequila. OMG..I love tequila. We have this, because we usually have Christmas Eve morning with my Mom. However, since I wasn’t home for Christmas last year, and again this year..we do it in November. 🙂

Lets focus on the most important part..FOOD!

A little closer…you can almost smell it can’t you?

I made homemade gravy with about 1/4 c. of turkey drippings and about 1 1/2 TB corn starch. The mashed potatoes has a splash of GF turkey stock w/ a splash of almond milk.

These brussel sprouts were FABULOUS. They were mixed w/ almond butter, tamari, lemon juice, cayenne pepper, garlic, oil. They were SO GOOD.

Turkey.

Times two on the turkey and brussel sprouts.

Then is was present time and stockings! I LOVE stockings..anyone else hear me on this?

Some people may have fallen victim to the afternoon turkey coma

Mock Christmas was a success. Sometimes I really loathe Christmas. To be honest the whole ‘I have to get gifts for people’ frustrates me. First, if religious, it’s about Christ’s Birth. Beyond that it should be hanging out with people who make you laugh, bring spirit to your soul and creating memories.

I do think this was accomplished this year.

How do you feel about Christmas?

~M

9 thoughts on “Mock Christmas

  1. All Women Stalker says:

    I really hate Christmas. Especially the gift-giving part. Oh, and the fake happiness and niceness. I think it’s all bull. I’d rather see my family doing that all year long than just during this season. I’m a bit of a sensitive so it disturbs me when I feel anything fake and contrived.

    But somehow… somehow…. I still end up enjoying myself in the company of my family and good friends. Weird. But nice.

    -Denise

  2. missyrayn says:

    Christmas used to stress me out with all the gift buying and everything not associated with the religious reason for the celebration. So now I just buy a gift for my mom and my two young cousins and Hunni’s mom. We don’t spend much and just enjoy the season with family and friends when possible and spreading the real love of Christ to our community.

  3. Tracey @ Tropical Happiness says:

    Sounds like you had a nice mock Christmas. I actually love Christmas. It’s so easy to get caught up in the hype and to get stressed out by it. I try to sit back and just ENJOY this time of year. I live in South FL, so I don’t have to deal with cold weather, which is nice. I love spending time with family, and my fam keeps our get togethers very casual and fun. I also love buying gifts!

    The one thing that gets complicated is trying to find time to spend with all of my husband’s family and to make it to all of their get togethers too. I just try to have a good attitude about that!

  4. Lara (Thinspired) says:

    You must be exhausted. Glad you arrived safe. Looks like they sent you off in style 😉

    I think Christmas has become completely overblown. For me, growing up it’s about family, beliefs, togetherness, and yeah, food. But I can’t believe how materialistic and stressful it has become. I still get excited about the season, but everyone in my life pretty much knows now that I do not buy or expect gifts!

  5. Gina Fit by 41, Maybe 42 says:

    Lara’s comment reminds me of my aunt. She doesn’t want any gifts. So, my dad bought her a package of batteries and a note on it that read, “Gift Not Included.”

    He cracks us up.

    But it sounds like you had a real Christmas…nothing mock about it to me. The date doesn’t matter, really, and the spirit of it can be year-round. Some say Christ was actually born in April, anyways.

    I hope you recoup fully from your trip!

Leave a Reply

