Almost died 1 year ago….

It’s been ONE YEAR since I thought I was going to die in Japan. Here’s a video that captures my past year, my thoughts on my journey. It’s me…in the flesh…after working out πŸ™‚ Hope that your enjoy!

How awesome..that one my one year anniversary Care2 covered the Exposed Movement with this great article Exposed Baring it all and celebrating your body

I am alive..

Thank you all of your for being with me on my journey. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

What have you learned in the past year?

~M

39 thoughts on “Almost died 1 year ago….

  1. Paula says:

    Girl, this video was awesome! Thanks for sharing your heart and your journey with so many people! I definitely feel a connection to you girl! You ARE strong and beautiful and courageous! Here’s to this next amazing phase of your journey – So glad that I can watch you! πŸ™‚

    Paula

    • Mish says:

      Thank you Paula. It’s always nice to know what people out there, ‘get’ what I am talking about. You’re inspiring to me as well. Thank you.

  2. Jenn (Ex Hot Girl) says:

    You’re my hero. I know you give me shout outs, and THANK you for that, but sister, you’re the one who brought out the positive in us. I struggle with looking at my body in a positive way, and I wouldn’t have started… without you.

    ❀

    ~Jenn (Ex Hot Girl)

  3. allisonleigh says:

    Mish-
    This was so encouraging for me. I can’t wait to transform right along side you- well- right along side your hemisphere πŸ™‚
    Thanks lady,
    love ya!

  4. missyrayn says:

    Mish I love that you posted this and you say that your body has never failed you. That is huge to recognize!

    You are such an inspiration πŸ™‚

  5. Lance says:

    Mish,
    You are an amazing woman!

    Keep on listening to your body…and know that it’s an honor for me to see this path that you are on…

  6. Nicole says:

    Well, I’m glad you made it!! You are an inspiration! I think that almost every woman has gone through some sort of eating disorder. You are proof that there is life after all of that darkness. I love that you have taken these experiences over the past year and learned from them! Thank you for your honesty!! πŸ˜‰

  7. kristen says:

    Great post. I hope the next year is a little less traumatic but that you learn just as much!

    Now I’m intrigued with the “exposed” series. All of you who did that are so very brave!

  8. Cindy says:

    Thanks for your inspiring story! I’ve been through a lot in mind, body and soul in the past few years with breast cancer (masectomy), instant menopause because of the treatment, depression and pain. Your Exposed project is a positive mind bending revelation and I bless you for it. I believe that everyone has issues with their body, no matter their condition or their age. You have reminded us to be thankful for and to care for this vehicle which has made our life possible.

    • Mish says:

      What a beautiful and amazing accomplishment your done! Overcoming something like that is such an incredible thing. Thank you for sharing that.

  9. mamaV says:

    Hi again Mish: Well, this exposed journey and your journey is quite incredible isn’t it?

    For whatever reason, I popped back over to your blog today to see if you had posted more “exposed” individuals so I could keep our list in sync with yours and I saw your video. I sat and watched it in awe. What a story you have. And what insight you have to offer others.

    You know, as much as you thank the “blog world” for helping you through this past year, you are now helping so many others with your words of wisdom. There is something about a brush with death that knocks you into reality huh?! Thank goodness you are ok, and you are now able to live your REAL live….what time we all waste.

    I try not to look back and think about the time I wasted absorbed in the eating disordered world, and the biggest thing that helps me is that I found a way to make all my horrible experiences positive through blogging. So we have a lot in common!!

    Keep up your honest, sincere, genuine spirit, and your blog will go on to touch many, many others — literally throughout the world (I love looking at our analytics and see that people are reading the blog from countries I have never heard from!! A few days ago on my personal blog mamavision dot com, a girl from Istanbul, Pakistan reached out to me to thank me for ED help — can you imagine?! With all that is going on in that part of the world?)

    Anyway, I could babble on and on here, but I’ll go — oh yeah, I wrote a feature post about you here πŸ˜‰

    http://watrd.wordpress.com/2009/12/11/i-almost-died-a-year-ago/

    Love,
    Heather
    aka mamaV at WeAreTheRealDeal

    • Mish says:

      MamaV, Thanks SO much for all of your support on this. It means a lot to me and to all of the people in the world who may come across this. The Whole Italian coverage was out of the blue and as you stated with the girl who came across you..it’s pretty powerful sometimes. Thank you for your support. May we all love what our bodies can do! ~M

  10. KatieP says:

    What a wonderful story that I so relate to — I feel like I was also at war with my body for so long and you’re right, it never gave up on me.
    You have a beautiful authentic spirit and you will achieve all that you dream of — of that I am certain.
    Big hugs β™₯

    • Mish says:

      Thank you. We’l see. I am thinking 1-2 per month. My transform weekly updates are going to be podcasts. πŸ™‚ It’s amazing what having a MacBook has enabled me to do.

  11. Dinneen - Eat Without Guilt says:

    Amazing, absolutely amazing! That video right there is all that “Eat Without Guilt” embodies.

    Having watched you and been in contact with you over the last many months, the main thing I can say is that I’m proud. Proud that you have grown inside so much and gotten so much insight!

    The way you are now treating yourself, your body, your relationship with food, exercise, and your outlook on life are what it is to be “healthy.”

    What a great role model and inspiration you are for others — and for people like me, who are helping women just like you this past year…struggling to find peace with food.

    So thank you for sharing your experience, your feelings, your thought, your insight, and your inspiring words. And thank you for finding a life where you can truly Eat Without Guilt πŸ™‚

      • Dinneen - Eat Without Guilt says:

        And do know, I’ve had my own issues with food & body image, to the extent of even an eating disorder & bingeing when I was younger. Helps me truly understand others feelings and what they go through. It’s that compassion that really helps others — so keep doing what you’re doing and inspiring others along the way!

      • Mish says:

        Thank you for sharing that. Having the ability to sympahtise and empathise with people is invaluable.

  12. Beverlee says:

    You’ll never begin to know how much I love you and how proud I am of you! You are an incredible inspiration. πŸ™‚

  13. Anna says:

    A wonderful video post.
    I love your ending – how your body has always been there for you no matter what you’ve thrown at it. It really is amazing how it tries to deal with what we give it – and it gives us signals too, we just have to learn how to listen. I’m still learning how to love myself, but I do try to thank my body for what it does for me each day.
    Speaking of… I think it’s time for a stretch sesh… my muscles could use some love.
    Thank you for sharing your journey.

  14. jessicaconte says:

    I LOVE this! I am glad you’re alive and living your life and sharing it with all of us πŸ™‚ I have learned so much from you and am so glad you’re such an inspiration to me and others πŸ˜‰ You go girl!

Leave a Reply

