Bottled H-two-O–It’s POISON!

I was scrolling through my friends blog today and came across this post about bottled water.

Bottled water

….is convenient.
….It’s cold.
….IS TERRIBLE for the environment.
….CONTAINS PLASTIC, if below a 7, that is HORRIBLE FOR YOU!

For many of us, we choose to not eat meat, buy local, buy organic, etc.

Presented by Online Education

Get yourself any of these alternatives…

  • CamelBak–I LOVE THESE! I have a pink one staring at my right now! The best part is the part where you drink out of.
  • SIGG water bottles–I also have one of these. There was recent claims that the liner was toxic in OLD models. The new ones are fine. This is a great light-weight option for people.

What are you thoughts? Is your plastic a 7?

~M

16 thoughts on “Bottled H-two-O–It’s POISON!

  1. Nicole says:

    Um yes!! I’ve been telling everyone that for years!! Of course, my degree is in water resources, but I know so many people who buy bottle water. It is ridiculous!! Plus, many times your tap water is healthier than the bottled stuff which isn’t regulated. Scary, isn’t?

    P.S. I JUST got the vegan giveaway stuff in the mail yesterday. Thanks again! I’ll be posting about it later today!!

  2. Jill says:

    What a great post – I’ve been trying to eliminate plastic bottles of water, soda, whatever from my life this year, and this was a great reminder of why that is so important. Thanks!

  3. Joanna Sutter says:

    I’m a water bottle snob! I have some of the ones you recommended plus one of my faves from KOR ONE. I refill the suckers every night and pack the fridge so I have access to cold water on the go.

  4. Katherine says:

    I always joke that my bright green Nalgene bottle is my little Linus security blanket – it’s always with me!(And I bought an insert to decrease the size of the opening so my face isn’t flooded each time I attempt to sip!)

  5. Reluctant Blogger says:

    It’s amazing how bottled water has really taken off. Only twenty years ago it was rare for anyone to buy it over here as our tap water supply is safe and good. But like plastic shopping bags suddenly everyone was using it.

    Plastic bags are on the decline here and you do see far more people using re-usable bags so hopefully the same will happen with bottled water if there is a campaign.

    I rarely buy bottled water – only if I forget to take a refillable bottle. The boys always use re-usable bottles for swim training etc.

    • Mish says:

      Isnt it funny. I remember growing up and there was only paper bags. Then plastic bags came in and now it’s shifting to resuable bags. In America it’s taken then THREE more years to finally start selling reusable bags at the major stores. I always asked for paper.

  6. Liz N says:

    Hi Mish, came to your blog through Katie’s. Love it! You’re a talented writer and very interesting to read 🙂 Consider me a fan!

    Liz N

    PS – I have a beautiful Nathan Water Bottle that is stainless steel and just gorgeous!

  7. Diane Fit to the Finish says:

    I think it’s so bad how they used those “bad” plastics to make baby bottles too! So when they were heated the chemicals were released. So upsetting.

    I’ve gotten rid of all my old ones (not baby bottles) and replaced them with the safer ones. We don’t do bottled water anymore either.

  8. All Women Stalker says:

    I used to buy bottled water a lot. Especially when I was in university because the administration of my school didn’t care to provide us with decent drinking water.

    Anyway, I have learned the value and convenience of having my own reusable bottle. I have a couple of bottles like the Nalgene one. I like ones with a small mouth. I use reusable bottles even when I’m at home. It encourages me to drink a lot of water throughout the day.

    -Denise

Leave a Reply

