White on Rice

After my crazy Saturday..Sunday felt amazingly slow…you need those Sundays sometimes 🙂

I woke up and did a 25 minute detox flow class from yogadownload.com. It was free from i-tunes as part of their podcasts. LOVE IT. I may have downloaded all of their podcasts today. I also may have a huge amount that I’ve paid for.

Yoga is one of those things that I always say ‘I need to do more of that’. Thanks to Jenna, she’s got me going back to it.

I went out with my friend Sarah to the local markets. I was craving meat…it also helps my intestines. Don’t ask me why…but my death sentence would be on a raw diet. Holy crap..I would die. I don’t do fiber well..that’s why you see A LOT of white rice, etc. It’s not the best..but I make due. Noticed there hasn’t been many apples lately?

I ordered this beef veggie stir-fry w/ white rice. Ate.it.all. Delish.

P1010285.JPG

We kept chatting so I said ‘wanna grab a cup of coffee?’ She obliged..so off we went. Now, I ordered a double shot ice sou latte  yesterday…so I thought perhaps I could repeat my luck. I got this.

P1010286.JPG

Now..it doesn’t look bad. However, the woman actually steamed milk and them put the warm foam on top. Who.does.that? I said to Sarah ‘I miss American iced lattes. Ice, shot, cold milk’. It’s simple kids. No foam needed.

I decided that I hadn’t had enough Asian food..so I cranked out this awesome veggie stir fry: 2 portobello mushrooms, bunch of baby bok choy, 1/3 chili, vegan spread (to fry in) ginger.

P1010288.JPG  P1010289.JPG  
P1010291.JPG

Ohh..yeah..salt.

Then I had some free range bird boobs. I don’t think that they’re hormone free..shit. Anyways about 8 oz of chicken boob, enough soy or tamari sauce for your like. Then right at the end lower heat and add 1/2 c. of pineapple juice and 1 TB of flour that you use (I used white rice). IT TASTES LIKE SWEET AND SOUR CHICKEN…and I can EAT IT! And it’s healthy.

P1010292.JPG

Had 1/2 of it.

Then I pulled a page from MamaPeas book and baked 2 small carrots and 1/2 of a zucchini in the oven. Topped with a little salt…these babies were awesome possum.

P1010293.JPG

The final plate with about 1 c. of white rice. I did portion control. Put the leftovers in a tupperware container and straight into the fridge. I am someone who picks before and after eating if there is food leftover–this had helped me. Plus..then I don’t blow money going out..which I’ve been doing a lot lately.

P1010295.JPG

Dessert..I wonder if Heather would do this? 1/4. c. HOT white rice w 2 tsp. almond butter. I LOVE IT!

P1010294.JPG

Ok..enough about white rice..what can I say?

What ethnically inspired food do you tend to cook at home? What ethnic food do you go out to eat?

~M

11 thoughts on “White on Rice

  1. Erin says:

    Your dinner looks delicious! We cook a lot of Greek and Asian stir-frys at home but I love to eat any kind of ethnic food. Thai, Lebanese, Ethiopian, Moroccan, Peruvian… the list goes on! 😉

  2. Dori says:

    Just like me, fiber is bad… hopefully we both find a way around this so we can be healthy for life. I like making Mexican food — nachos, tacos. Mmmmmmmm.

  3. Susan says:

    “my death sentence would be on a raw diet”

    Ditto. Except my reason is because mass amounts of raw vegetables do a number on my stomach. A few handfuls of spinach in a green smoothie is enough to have e doubled over in pain for hours :\ Cooked veggies and meat? Yes please!

    Love your blog!! And your “eating journey” 😉

    • Mish says:

      Yeah pretty much. I was wondering why I was in such pain..and then I realised that it’s just TOO much fiber. Which is annoying, cause I have to eat stuff that doesn’t hold on as long..but it just means I get to PACK myself full of veggies. Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Diana says:

    I tend to cook a lot of Asian (not necessary Chinese or Japanese – maybe a hodgepodge of multiple styles combined) and Italian. I tend to go out for Mediterranean.

  5. Julia says:

    I have been cooking a lot of Indian at home and we go out for Indian, Thai, Sushi. I love mexican but hubby is not mad about it so it is not often we go out for it.
    My son has been asking for Taco night so I have made that a couple of times in the last 2 months – makes great salad.

  6. Lara (Thinspired) says:

    Love all the rice in this post!
    I’m half Chinese. I grew up eating white rice almost every night for dinner and today it is my big comfort food. I try to cook brown at home most of the time, but nothing beats white with certain dishes! Luckily I like brown enough to fake myself out 80% of the time!

  7. All Women Stalker says:

    I’m Filipino so rice is a staple in my diet. I don’t think I can give up rice. I’m really trying to slowly use brown or red rice instead of white rice. All the food you had was so yummy!

    -Denise

  8. abbynormally says:

    LOL BIRD BOOBS! I thought my husband was the only one who called them that! hahaha! And I’m definitely a white rice kinda gal 🙂

Leave a Reply

