Life is one big Equation

Good Afternoon Class. I have a Math lesson for you today!
I HATE MATH!
Oh, I know Math isn’t fun. But guess what? We’re not working with numbers today. We’re working with emotions.

I got to thinking about this when I was discussing my Transform Me Week 2 recap. How do emotions equate to our negative and positive self-image/eating/exercising/relationships?

Here are some equatable patterns which I have struggled with…can you identify?

200912212224.jpg
Loneliness + Cookies = More bingeing
Tired + Overeating = Breakdowns
Validation + Negative Self-Talk = Scale Validation
Fat + Calorie Restriction = Obsession
When we look at our patterns in life..much of the negative cycles which we subject our mental, emotional, spiritual and bodily beings with are due to this need to really identify EMOTIONS which were are feeling our COPING MECHANISMS and END RESULTS.
It’s a downward cycle which many of us have. The other day, I propped myself up bawling knowing this was at the root of my problem….my equation was all wrong.
Lets look at this again….

200912211734.jpg  
Guess what..I didn’t fix the emotion. NOPE! The point of this exercise is to not suffocate the emotions..they are ALWAYS going to be there. It’s part of life. Instead lets look at emotions with a more positive/affirming coping mechanism.

Loneliness + Google Reader = Inspiration
Lazy + 10 minutes of a task = Organisation
Pleasing + Positive Self Talk = Connection 2 ur soul
Burnt out + Hot Bubble Bath = Relaxation

I leave this with you. I hope this makes sense to you. What I want you to focus on this week is getting to the core of your Emotional Equations. It’s ok if right now your equations may mirror the first table. If you’ve found an equation that helps you..that’s GREAT!

Happy equating!

So what are some of your not-so-helpful and helpful equations you have in your life?…please share!

~M

25 thoughts on “Life is one big Equation

  1. KatieP says:

    You are an angel ~ I needed this one tonight, having ‘one of those days’.
    It is nice to know that I don’t need to fix anything (sorry I need to speak loudly … I DON’T NEED TO FIX ANYTHING … ahhh better) but simply find a way to soothe the jagged edges.
    You have been my healing balm tonight β™₯

  2. Miz says:

    I love this, Mich.
    For me it was/is 100% the embracing of the emotion and the SQUASHING IT LIKE A GRAPE IN THE ROOF OF MY MOUTH as only then can I move on.

    when I attempt to distract myself Im wholly and utterly like your first chart.

  3. Pure2Raw Twins says:

    Great great post! Love how you change something negative into positive that is something we struggle with daily. Although we are getting better, especially since we are starting to feel better. We now look at food as a way to heal us and put our health first. The biggest thing for us to recognize the emotion, maybe talk about it, and then LET IT GO. Letting go is the hard part, but we are looking at it as a work in progress.

  4. Fitarella says:

    I know the first chart all too well. I really like how you laid this out though. Its so interesting to see it this way and work it out mathematically, makes so much sense!!

  5. Teri says:

    Awesome post! My personal equations can look a lot like this (both good and bad): Loneliness, stress, mental fatigue and my inability to do anything right + me not stopping to take care of myself and continuing to take everything on = breaking down, emotionally and physically drained, higher stress levels, eating and hating myself. (Now for the healthy equation)Loneliness, stress, mental fatigue and my inability to do anything right + dance = clarity, a renewed strength, a smile, room to breathe, laughter and self-affirmation.

    Thanks, Mish!!

  6. Shannon says:

    I am so glad you have those little charts. It is an eye-opener to actually see it right in front of you.
    One I could ad? I tend to always think everything is my problem or my fault and need to fix it all. I don’t know how to put that into words but I have to actually talk myself into a calm state and tell myself it is okay, it is out of my hands and it is not my problem.
    Hope that makes sense. Addressing that we have all of these little quirks is a GREAT step towards healing and improvement.
    Thanks so much for this post today!
    XO

  7. Diane Fit to the Finish says:

    I’ve written about this before because it is absolutely vital to have a grasp of the emotions surrounding our eating. I kept an emotions journal, very similiar to your chart. It was so helpful to see where some of my patterns were coming from.

    Great job!

  8. Susan says:

    I love this chart. I need to make my own specific one to put a finger on how I’m dealing with some of my emotions. It makes so much more sense when it’s laid out like that, and makes it a lot easier to identify and nip in the bud as soon as those emotions start. The pretty colour coding doesn’t hurt either πŸ˜‰

  9. Liz N says:

    I love this analogy – takes all the confusion out and presents everything in an easy to read format. I gather you’re American living in Australia (hope you love it here)

    Liz N

  10. Francesca says:

    I loved this set of equations! – what a clear, useful, structured way to lay it out. If OK with you, I will link to your post in one of my next ones.

    Best wishes for your 2010 with all its changes such as new training and new town to live in.

Leave a Reply

