Cancer Survivor Exposed–Cindy

I love this guest post (the link may or may not work..it didn’t work for me…so I decided to post it here, cause I LOVE her story). I don’t know about you..but the thought of losing a boob is some what terrifying to me. My grandma had both of hers removed.

Cindy shows us all that we don’t have to hide in that fear. I Love It! It’s the time of year for celebrating what we have, where we’re at and counting our blessings. Enjoy!

200912212241.jpg

Women all over the world need to think about what this simple exercise can do for them. Instead of pointing out the flaws with your body, you point out the great things your body has done for you and what you like about your body.

I AM a tough Texas Woman…some of the time, when I need to be, when I HAVE to be. I was a fat kid, raised on beef, candy bars and Coca-Cola. I starved myself as a teenager to lose weight. I was on a regimen of no breakfast, diet Dr. Pepper and chips for lunch and very little dinner. This did not make for a healthy body, only a skinny one. This diet gave me no energy, allergies and I was also terribly shy. I felt terrified of weight gain, which I believe has affected my general health.

I AM also a breast cancer survivor. My cancer taught me that I want to LIVE! It has also taught me that stressing over anything as changeable and uncontrollable as how you look is a waste of precious life energy. Although I am still vain, I know that I might as well enjoy myself, care for myself with healthy food and exercise and LIVE my life to the fullest of my capacity. Live! Laugh! Love!

Many blessings,

Cindy from Texas

You can find more Exposed Movement posts here.

8 thoughts on “Cancer Survivor Exposed–Cindy

  1. Miz says:

    Thank you thank you for sharing this Cindy.

    I adore this quote:
    My cancer taught me that I want to LIVE! It has also taught me that stressing over anything as changeable and uncontrollable as how you look is a waste of precious life energy.

    and have learned as much as Ive helped others through their bouts of cancer and admired their strength courage and tenacity.

    carla

  2. Lance says:

    I”m with Miz on this – love the thought that came because of the cancer.

    Live! Laugh! Love! — that is a great prescription for life!

  3. louisianagrown says:

    What a beautiful body and wonderful thoughts. I also love that it made me wonder what I would say about my own body, which is always the surest sign that something is meaningful.

  4. All Women Stalker says:

    I teared up a bit over this one. I remember when my gyne told me that she suspected me to have endometriosis. I cried at the thought of having a progressive condition. I wanted to have a choice of having a baby. I didn’t want to end up having no choice. I cried a lot for a couple of weeks. But then I learned to deal with it. My endometriosis is one of the reasons why I want to live a healthier life. That has led me to have a healthier view and attitude towards my body.

    -Denise

Leave a Reply

