2 Boys, 1 Mountain & Me

I have survived this view for four days!

P1010406.JPG

I decided to go with my friends Cal and Tom (both are singles ladies..but you’ll have to come over to Oz!)

201001062129.jpg

On our way to the lovely Down South Region of Western Australia we stopped by a liquor store. You gotta have boxed wine don’t you? There were these awesome FREE wine tasting machines. Great idea of keeping bottle wine open but not spoiled. I thought of Jenna…wonder if she’s ever seen these things?

P1010360.JPG
P1010361.JPG P1010359.JPG

We climbed Bluff Knoll. Man.Oh.Man was it a good climb. 3,000 feet (1,000 meter) gain in 1 hour. I WAS SWEATING. My legs not only burned on the way up, but they shook on the way down.

P1010362.JPG

But really..how amazing is this view?

P1010365.JPG

The boys and I chilled out a bit on top of the mountain. Then I got to thinking ‘I’ve already done my 5km today…but not my Whittle My Middle. Why not on top of a mountain?’ That’s right.. YOU CAN DO EXERCISE ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD.

P1010375.JPG

We chilled out that night at a great campsite and then headed out early in the morning to see a random figure around…a Dutch Wind Mill.

201001062134.jpg

That’s what travelling is all about…random adventures πŸ™‚ We then camped out that night by the ocean. Oh.My.Heavens….amazing. Loved it.

P1010393.JPG
That night I took another 5km walk cause I can’t let Seth think that I am not getting up to what I promised. I also did another instillation of WMM and some yoga. About 1 1/2 hours worth of exercise with nothing more than an i-pod and my written down ab moves. It was great.
However..the blisters I got from my sandals..not so great 😦 I had to keep my toes and part of my foot taped all weekend.

201001062138.jpg
The next morning we stopped by the local whiskey distillery. I don’t like whiskey much. However, I loved the decor and the bottles the alcohol was in πŸ™‚

P1010401.JPG P1010402.JPG
We then went to Denmark….Denmark Western Australia πŸ™‚ Sat down by the beautiful river to have lunch with a former co-worker who has moved down there. It’s a hippie town w/ great local food. I had a grilled gluten free veggie sammie w/ parmesan cheese—no cheese—I must remember this. However, after not having real gluten free bread forever, I had died.and.gone.to.heaven.

201001062140.jpg
After the gorgeous Denmark we headed to our campsite outside of town. Not before hitting but a Meadery. This is a place that makes all their wine with Honey. Tasty. However, a bit of a tiff started and I could sense my levels of frustration and anxiety creeping up. I went to food—par for the course–however I stopped.
Got.my.ass.together—-and hit the pavement. Cranked out another 1 hour walk with hills.
I felt SO much better. I stopped a binge. In.it’s.tracks…but distracting and dealing with my anxiety with exercise. That was HUGE for me.
We got up this morning and went to another beach. The boys want to snorkel. I just wasn’t feeling it at all. However, I did get another 5km in..BOOYHA!

201001062140.jpg
I know a lot of you are probably wondering..what about the food? So.boring!
  • Tuna
  • Rice crackers (5 packets)
  • Sunflower butter
  • Salsa
  • Apples
  • Oranges
  • White rice
  • Going out sometimes (gf brekky, chicken salad, sandwhich)

I had an amazing conversations this weekend with a woman…will write about later. Let’s just say…I don’t look at foot as points anymore. It has hard to take a break from the blog..however it was good. It made me realise that I need to set up some parameters around blogging, blog reading, twittering. However, it’s also nice to be back here as well.

I feel free. I feel content. I feel real. I feel happy.

I am touch with me.

When have you travelled/taken a break that has given you back you?

~M

22 thoughts on “2 Boys, 1 Mountain & Me

  1. Yum Yucky says:

    But I wanna go to the Mountain with 2 boys too! Umm, er, if was single.

    Now that I’m married I just want to go to the Mountain for one day alone. hehe.

    That sammich is freakin’ awesome! Much like your side plank.

  2. Angela (Oh She Glows) says:

    LOVE IT!!!!

    My honeymoon was the best relaxing break I have ever had in my life. It came after a very stressful year and it was so needed. I hope our trip to florida this spring will be that too!

  3. Lara (Thinspired) says:

    This is wonderful…you seem so happy and at peace! And who wouldn’t, with those kick-ass wine samples? πŸ˜‰

    I look at my entire time living in the UK as a “trip” that changed me. It gave me perspective on where I was from, where I had been, and where I wanted to go. Powerful stuff!

  4. Shannon says:

    Everything is just so beautiful! I have to admit that I am a little envious of the free spirit you are. You just go and do and enjoy. I so wish I was more like you when I had the lifestyle to allow it.
    Enjoy who you are and where you are at. When you are older with a family just think of the adventures you will have had in your life.
    Wow!

  5. eaternotarunner says:

    Sounds like an amazing trip. I would give anything to be there and not in a cubicle right about now!

  6. louisianagrown says:

    I always think it’s really interesting to see how far we will push our bodies when we are doing something that is considered fun. You hiked until your legs were trembling, but would kept up a typical run until your legs felt like that? Our bodies can go so much farther than we think they can!

  7. plamarie says:

    What a wonderful trip. GAL, and beautiful! I hate when “I am stuck in my shoes.” That’s what I call being away from home and a change of shoes, cause the ones I am wearing are killing me. Sorry. Props to you for getting those workouts in-vacations can get me there

  8. Jenelle says:

    So glad you’re back!

    Your trip looks like it was amazing and full of action! The view is gorgeous. Sometimes a disconnect is exactly what we need. I felt the same way about my trip to Oregon this summer. I remember distinctly one thought I had as the gentleman and i were hiking up to the top of Multnomah Falls: “I could never have made it to the top two years ago”. I’d have been out of breath within five minutes. There was something really liberating about knowing that I could, with a little effort, go anywhere I want to go. No limitations. Really, this is why I want a strong body. I never want to be held back for physical reasons again. After this trip, I decided my next would incorporate more hiking, etc.

    • Mish says:

      it’s true. being away from everything is such a liberating experience. no distractions. nothing other than you, nature and your own spirit. it’s great.

  9. All Women Stalker says:

    Well, in all honesty, it was when I quit from my first (then my second) job and decided to just freelance and discover myself. It’s been 3 months and I have discovered so much about me. I don’t want it to end but there are things I have to do.

  10. missyrayn says:

    I had to go to Colorado for a work thing but I spent as much time as possible in Birkram yoga and The Garden of the Gods. So refreshing despite the stress of the trip. I came home so happy and fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

