31 thoughts on “8 years to do

  1. Rachel says:

    I watched this with tears in my eyes. You are such an inspiration to me, and to hear that you struggle with the same things I do makes me feel comforted that I’m not the only one.

    I always tell myself that I would hate to go through life not seeing the beauty that other people see in me.

    Congratulations on ditching the scale, and focusing on health rather than weight 🙂

  2. gemfit says:

    Well done! It’s ridiculous to think that 100grams affects our mood so much – when you think about it, 100 g is NOTHING. It’s saying you pretty much maintained. You fueled your body enough for the work you did. Even steven.

    I weighed myself yesterday and the number hadn’t moved really. Which was fine. I was fine with it. My scale does not own me. It is a guide sometimes but I refuse to let it own me.

  3. Margie says:

    This took so much courage to do. Congratulations on not letting the scale determine your worth. That was happening to me too. I was weighing myself everyday. When I started running, I noticed I was gaining muscle in my legs. But the scale showed a gain and of course that made me feel terrible. I still have my scale, I just use it once a month. I try to measure my weight by a pair of Ann Taylor jeans that I own. They are not forgiving. So they are a wonderful tool to help me determine where I am at.

  4. Joanna says:

    Can you hear all the applause in the background? It’s us…it’s all of us. I can SO relate and I’m SO impressed you’ve taken the next step. Go you! I’m off to clap some more.

  5. beautifuldancer says:

    I cried. All I can say is that I cried and I love you for helping me have my own epiphany about the scale.

    Thank you<3

    • Mish says:

      thanks. it was hard and yet easy to do. sometimes I wonder if I share too much of myself w/ the blog world. then I realise that I am ‘not the only one’ who goes through this.

  6. Seth Simonds says:

    I got rid of my scale and started using distance as a metric to gauge my progress.

    When I moved to MS I decided to buy another scale because I needed to track lbs lost for the blog. (and I find it interesting to know)

    Strangely, having been away from a scale for so long, I use it now just to get a daily number. It’s just a number. 7 of them together show me a trend while one on it’s own can give me an idea if I’m dehydrated or not.

    It took me awhile to get to that point though. I like that you used a marker on your scale. Way to get your point across!

    I hope things continue to get better and better for you! =)

    • Mish says:

      I hope to one day be at a place where weight/scale/pant size doesn’t rule my life. For me I had to quit it..like an affair.

  7. Nicole @ Geek Turned Athlete says:

    Wow, congrats!! Lady, you are so beautiful and smart, and it worries me that you are having to struggle through this right now. But, it sounds like you are winning the battle. Remember, you could have up to 5 pounds of poo inside of you too when you weigh yourself. That could also be excess water. Remember that if you decide to use the scale at the gym or something. 🙂

  8. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Aww I cried too! Oh dear, still am. Can’t see now!

    It was so lovely to see you for one thing and to hear your voice and then, well, to see you do that to the scales – fab.

    Here’s to the future.

    And yeah – I’ve done that 0.1kg thing too! So ridiculous.

    Fuel is the Future.

    xxxx

  9. Joanna Sutter says:

    I am so proud of you! I used to weigh myself every Monday that way I wouldn’t go hog wild on the weekends. But, like you, I let the scale set my mood for the week. Did I ever stop to think that my weight might be up because I gained some beautiful, hard earned, sexy muscle? Not really. When I finally stopped using the scale to judge myself worth, I reconnected with my body. I found other ways to measure my progress…now I’m building a healthy relationship with the mirror, how my clothes fit, and my energy levels.

  10. Linda says:

    Good for you! I did this two months ago and it is one of the best things I have ever done for myself. It was so liberating.

  11. challenges2010 says:

    I’d like to congratulate you, too. BUT and this is a good BUT I was waiting for you to take a sledgehammer to the scale or drop it off a roof or throw it aganst a cement wall,drive over it with your car………..well I guess you get the idea 🙂 You know us guys we like a little destruction.

    Did you make it to a DQ when you were back home or are you sticking to your mud fudge smoothies?

    • Mish says:

      I totally know what you mean..I thought about it. It would have been pretty damn refreshing to do that. Hope that your challenges are going well. Keep updating everyday. 🙂

  12. Libby says:

    Wow, what can I say? I am so VERY glad I found your blog just a few days ago. What an amazing woman you are!!!! I know I need to ditch my scales – so many days have been destroyed by them. Every so often I’ll move them from the bathroom but they always return. Hoping as I read more of your blog I’ll find some of your courage to end my unhealthy relationship with a machine. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Libby

  13. Foodie McBody says:

    That was so moving! It really was. I am proud of you. What an amazing liberation. I totally applaud (YAY YAY YAY) that brave and freeing move.

    I haven’t ever had a negative reaction to a “small” gain like .25 lb. I’m like, “oh well.” What more often happens to me is that I tell myself that everything’s OK (when my clothes tell me they’re not) and then I’m shocked at like a 4-5 lb gain. But then I know I need to do something. It was ignoring the scale for so long (years) that got me into trouble. So I feel like my scale is my friend and tells me what’s what when my head tries to mess with me and say something different. I feel like my scale keeps my honest with myself. But I don’t ever fret about small gains. It’s the big gains I need to watch out for. And for that, my little friend in the bathroom keeps me accountable. 🙂

  14. All Women Stalker says:

    I’m glad I took time to stop and watch your video. I could feel your anger, your frustration, and the liberation. Thanks for the wonderful food for the thought today. Though I have long ago given up the scale, I still could understand the need for self-affirmation from other things and other people. You have inspired me to surrender.

Leave a Reply

