I PRed!!!!!

That’s right..you heard me…I PRed tonight! I ran 10km, 6.6 miles, on my very own will. It took me 1 hr and 15 minutes. It was slow. I walked a bit. I did it.

Wait..who does that? Who goes from hardly running 2 miles to running 6.6?

Well..I had this awesome plan of running 3 miles and just getting out there. After reading this, that, this and that marathon re-cap I was ready to conquer the pavement.

P1010382.JPG

Then.I.Got.Lost

I just kept running. Had music on, it was cool out, the stars were shinning, and I love running in the dark. I knew that I had been running a bit and I stopped and asked a woman ‘excuse me where’s Stirling Hwy?’

She looked at me with a worried look. ‘Yeah, it’s a bit up there..You’ll be in Claremont’.

‘Claremont, are you f-ing kidding me? Sh*t’ I said. Knowing that not only did I have a bit more to get to Stirling Hwy, claremont was a LONG ways from my home and it had four hills.

I just kept going. Then I needed to use the restroom. I NEEDED to. Why? Cause ate way to many of these.

P1010419.JPG

vegan spread, cocoa powder, coconut, xylitol (sugar)

I felt sick. I wanted to die. I NEED TO FUEL BETTER. It hit me. No longer was it a whimsical thing..it was real as my sweaty ass imprinted some dodgey back toilet of a liquor store—I HAD to use a toliet 1/2 way through.

I kept going. Praying. I kept going cause I had a coffee date w/ Georgia.

P1010420.JPG

I got to the highway and really started praying and then contemplating vomiting every block. ‘Nope, not there. They’re trying to sell their house’ ‘Nope not there, too much light’.

I got home. I PRed.

Then I felt like I was going to die. My stomach was cramping. All of the shitty food I ate (dinner below) was punishing me.

P1010414.JPG

Ok, I get it..I HAVE TO PROPERLY FUEL. I looked like hell.

P1010421.JPG

Then it hit me:

  • I ran 6.6 miles out of my own free will
  • I thought of Caitlin while I was runing..she did it..so can I
  • There’s no reason that I can’t do everything I put my mind to
  • Eating sh*t food is ok..eating tons of sh*t food is not ok

I ran. I PRed. I vomited. I cried. I am SO proud!

When have you pushed yourself beyond what you thought you could do? How did you feel?

siggy(2).jpg

Ryan @ No More Baconexposed himself’ and included an awesome video. It inspired me to thank my body. To take a picture to remember this moment. Ryan…you rule my world.

P1010422.JPG

18 thoughts on “I PRed!!!!!

  1. missyrayn says:

    The day I ran my 5K and just kept running was big for me. I thought I was only a short distance runner but when I checked my iPod thingy I had run 7K. I can totally do 10K.

  2. louisianagrown says:

    Congratulations. Running is more in your head than it is in your legs, and it sounds like you’re really starting to gain control of what’s going on in your brain. This was so inspiring; I’m counting down the minutes until I get off of work and I can go run!

  3. abbynormally says:

    I’m proud of you! When I push myself, I feel like total crap. I just want to quit!! But once it is over I feel AMAZING! Victories are always good, no matter how small!

  4. FLG says:

    Freaking awesome! 10 km FTW! You SHOULD be proud! Did the vomitting make you feel better? I’ve only done it once myself. I found it made me feel worse straight after, then better after a little while.

  5. All Women Stalker says:

    I think it was when I had to run a 10k for PE class. I ran/walked and I didn’t give in to the voice that kept telling me to slow down and just chat with my friends. I wanted to finish as strongly as I could and I did. I felt so proud of myself. Like I could do anything from then on.

  6. Laura Georgina says:

    Why didn’t I find your blog sooner? Loooove it.

    Way to go on the 10K PR!! Doesn’t matter if it happened because you were lost (but it does make it funnier and more memorable). I had a pace PR this week for the same reason–went out early, got lost, had to get back to make it to work on time. What matters is getting there.

    And the nausea–how do you deal? I get it too and it makes me c-r-a-z-y (and probably quite unattractive to passersby)

Leave a Reply

