Eating Aztecs

Hey there,

Hope you’re day is going well. Mine started off pretty bad. However, I decided that I wasn’t going to cope with food. Instead, I powered through by making a to-do-list and got onto the things which I needed to get done.

I have been inspired by some Ancient Grains today.

Brekky was Amaranth w/ 1 egg, 1 egg white and 3/4 c. frozen veggies.
It was really good. Nice, filling and delicious.

P1010426.JPG

What is Amaranth?

is actually a seed. Amaranth is a highly nutritious grain, and is unusual in that it offers a complete form of vegetable protein. It is also a great source of dietary fiber, calcium and minerals such as iron, magnesium, phosphorus, copper and manganese. A gluten free food especially useful for very active people, vegetarians, and pregnant and breastfeeding women. (source)

Asian Meets Mexican Salad
Pad Thai noodles w/ green beans, salsa and lettuce. It was tasty, but I needed protein.


201001132109.jpg

Today Was CRAZY and Not.My.Day
I snacked on some almonds (1/3 c. throughout day). I then ran around all day long. Seriously today was just not my day. My scooter is having problem, I am currently uninsured cause I can’t get my credit card to work online and I stressing about money. The whole budgeting thing is good, but I makes me aware of my not-so-great-spending-habits.


201001132116.jpg

Coffee Date Made It Better
I met up with Lisa who is an Irish Doctor. She’s great. We had a great conversation. She’s on a journey and it was nice to speak to someone who I just met about their life. Sometimes meeting strangers, makes it easier to open yourself up.


201001132114.jpg

I had a short macchiato…basically a shot w/ a touch of steamed milk.

201001132114.jpg

Quinoa and Tofu to the RESCUE
I tried to take out of Mama Peas book and make some Mexican Quinoa

  • 1 c. quinoa
  • 2 tsp vegan spread
  • 1 carrot
  • 1/4 zuch
  • 1/3 onion
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 1 can tomatoes
  • 1 1/2 can of water

Then I decided to make Sweet and Sour Tofu

  • 200 g. firm tofu
  • 1 can of pineapple chunks w/ juice
  • 1/4 onion
  • 1 tsp. vegan spread


201001132112.jpg

My dinner was great. I actually decided to eat outside, cause I needed to step away from sitting in front of a computer and eating all the time.

My Crack
Red grapes and Pink Ladies (x3 today) and strawberries and cream tea.

201001132115.jpg

Great Stuff

What is something that you’ve tried that you never thought you’d eat?



7 thoughts on “Eating Aztecs

  1. Jenelle says:

    Your dinner looks absolutely amazing!

    When J and I started dating he raved about red beets. Beets beets beets. I had no interest because the only variety I’d ever tasted were the kind from a can. One day he showed up at my door with a container of roasted red beets and some flowers and they were yummier than I could have imagined (and it wasn’t just the flowers swaying my opinion). So sweet and nutritious. Now at salad bars I have a tendency to overload on them.

    Best of luck with the budgeting. Money problems are the worst because they’re impossible to ignore.

  2. Jenn says:

    I LOVE quinoa!!!

    I am very much like my father in that, I’ll try anything once. I’m an adventurous eater, which is strange in a way because I spent so many years being SO regimented about my intake. one of these days I swear I’m going to learn how to cook and start exploring new dishes…eating my own cooking may be as adventurous as I’ll ever need to be! : )

  3. Reluctant Blogger says:

    When I see your photos of cafes and the like my heart kind of misses a beat. They make me miss Australia so much. It’s odd really because I don’t actually want to go back (well, I’d love to go on another trip) but I dunno, I wish I was back. Oh I don’t know what i mean. I still have PMS so a photo of a cafe made me go all drippy. Doesn’t help that it’s freezing cold and grey here and it looks so hot and sunny and perfect.

    Sigh!

  4. missyrayn says:

    Almost anything I eat now I never dreamed I would. Quinoa, bulgur, barley…what? I was a packaged food queen and now most of my food is whole when I purchase it.

Leave a Reply

