Dreamy Skin

Hey there. I am sitting in my darkened apartment with the fan and A/C on…it’s hot.

I got up earlier than yesterday and went for a run. Yesterday I went at 9am, but today I got out at 8am. It was STILL hot.

I did 2 min running/1 minute walking for 36 minutes/5km. I swear to the Holy Running God, that I whenever it was time to run…it was a damn hill.

Half-way through I did the following:

  • 15 bench step-ups on each leg
  • 10 bench push-ups
  • 20 calf-raises on each side

Times two. Then I hauled my sweaty arse home. There is NOTHING better than a shower after running. There is nothing.

I must share with you two things which I have fallen in love with since buying them in America while I was home!

1. Yes to Carrots: Daily Pampering Shampoo and Hair Mask

I LOVE this product. I have a very annoying scalp that loves to build up, get dry and cracky and cause intense spells of itching. It can get incredibly painful. I have tried EVERYTHING. The only thing that would help was Head and Shoulders. But I don’t like the idea of supporting animal testing (J&J does) and put chemicals on my head.

Then I saw Yes to Carrots and thought: Why not? I like carrots! After using it, I fell in love not only with their product but also their mission.

Each of our Yes To families were born of a true desire to make you feel and look as radiant as humanly possible. We strive to give you back your natural glow and a pure feeling of joy! We’re committed to doing all this by creating paraben free formulas which contain all the yummy goodness of organic fruits and vegetables , and Dead Sea Minerals .

They have a great mission to, which goes to plant organic food for under served areas:

The Yes To Carrotsβ„’ Seed Fund, a U.S. 501(c)3 non-profit organization, is on a mission to make a difference in people’s lives by providing under-served communities with the resources to develop and sustain an organic food source and access to healthy nutrition.

I just love their stuff. I loved it before I knew about their company and I love it even more. The best part is that I can get it in Australia and you can get it pretty much anywhere in the world πŸ™‚

2. Burts Bees: Soap Bark and Chamomile Deep Cleansing Mask

It has this refreshing tingle about it that I just love. It’s soft on my skin and I use it every time I take a shower. I love that:

Burt’s Bees is an “Earth Friendly, Natural Personal Care Company.” We create natural, Earth-friendly personal care products formulated to help you maximize your well-being and that of the world around you.

These products are available everywhere and they are affordable. I love good skin/hair products, but what I love more is that these puppies are in an major supermarket and are something which are affordable.

I went throughout my day pretty much sweating the whole time. I got some very important health/police clearances sent off for my nursing program which I will be starting in about three week–YIKES! I can’t believe that it’s finally happening. I then was reading MamaPeas blog post and realised that it was MLK Jr. Day in American on Monday. I had totally forgotten…living abroad that will happen sometimes.

I watched the ‘I Have a Dream Speech’ and was moved. Not being alive during the time that it happened, I am grateful that I have learned about it throughout school. However, we NEVER watched it. I suggest that you watch it..or at least open the video and have it playing while your poddering around the house. The words of this man, his eloquence, the power of this time…should not be forgotten.

I couldn’t help but think of Obama after watching this speech.

14 thoughts on “Dreamy Skin

  1. Miz says:

    (I love all things BURTS BEES!)

    I spent lots of yesterday trying to impress upon my daughter (on her level) the importance of the day.
    it still is MIND BLOWING for me that we have a Black president.
    MIND BLOWING and says so much about the USA that I didnt, as a Jewish woman who great up with lots of discrimination, think possible

    • Mish says:

      religious discrimination is something less talked about, but just as equally as important. I cried when Barack won…I may have not been at work for three hours that day πŸ™‚

  2. Jessica says:

    Perfect timing on this post! I am looking for new face care products since I can no longer find mine ANYWHERE??? I think I will give the burts bees a shot.

    I second that they make amazing chapstick : )

    Amazing to see how far we have some & how far we still have to go – mind blowing.

    • Mish says:

      Yeah I like Burt’s Bees. I wouldn’t say it’s the most efficent at getting make-up off…but it love that it’s natural and tingly πŸ™‚ Now the Yes to Carrots..LOVE IT. They have face stuff, but I haven’t tried it yet.

  3. Tj says:

    I use the YES to Carrots body butter and its the BEST lotion ever!!! My hands are always very dry and this is like hand cream crack to them! lol Super moisturizing and not greasy. I will have to check out the other products! πŸ™‚

  4. Brenda says:

    I love the burts bee products too!! We have mid 30’s with cold rain tomorrow and Thursday. So I guess I shouldn’t complain about running in the cold this evening. At least after I warm up, the chill goes away.

    I have awarded you with a beutiful blogger award at my b fit by 40 blog. Your blog is a great inspiration and it’s an award you truly deserve!!!

  5. Sarah says:

    I love the Yes to Carrots deep conditioner. I too got it whilst visiting the US last year. Ever since I started using it, my hair has been so healthy and actually kind of soft (and I’m a redhead and we’re known for our coarse hair, so that’s a miracle). Even my hairdresser noticed how much nicer it is.

    Priceline sells Yes to Carrots, I just discovered the other day. So does David Jones. Yay!

Leave a Reply

