Fitness Goals: Need Advice

Do you have fitness goals?

I have always had a weight goal in the back of my mind…for however long I can remember. However, after writing ‘Getting Fit, Not Thin!‘ I realised that switching my focus from being thin to being fit is where I want to be.

But, how does one go about planning a fitness goal?

Is it a running goal?
A weight lifting goal?
A minute goal for how much you acquire throughout the week?
That you do a certain amount of days?
A measurement goal?

I have been thinking a lot: So, Michelle what is your fitness goal? I am honestly not sure. I have no idea, actually.

I will say that yesterday I did MJ‘s once a week KILLER workout!

  • 10 Burppies
  • 10 wide legged squats with an upright row
  • 10 step ups w/ a shoulder press using a weighted bar (each leg)
  • Plank with alternating arm rows and then leg kicks
  • Hamstring fitness ball curl, then lift ball with legs and crunch with weight overhead
    • This three times through
    • 1 minute break between each set

I finished it, but couldn’t do the planks without putting my knees down. My arms were shaking from the everything. I was exhausted.

I felt amazing after wards. I wanted more. MJ and I have measured my body and pinched my flab. I know where I am at. However, I don’t have a clear focus as to where I want to do.

I have thought about the following as potentials:

  • Get through the intensive routine above w/ no modifications
  • 3 x/week weights, 4x/week cardio
  • Get below 25% body fat (at 28% now)

I need your advice/insight: How do you plan fitness goals? What are your fitness goals? Advice?


33 thoughts on “Fitness Goals: Need Advice

  1. challenges2010 says:

    Last time I was trying to get fit I only wanted to get fit. So I joined a circuit training class that worked well. This was enough for me but as I was blogging my progress fellow bloggers planted seeds in my head and before I knew it I had run a half marathon and completed a OlyTri. If only I had continued on this journey they started me on. Instead I’m trying to get there from square one again!

    My current goal is loose time wise but I’d like to work my way back to being able to do the above again.

  2. love2eatinpa says:

    wow! that is an intense workout! i have been going to the gym 4 times a week, doing cardio and strength, for over two years and don’t know if i could pull that off! damn, you go girl!!!!!

    I think any and all of those potential goals are great. i think you need to decide which fits best for you.

    as for me, i just go to the gym like a robot, with no real fitness goals in mind. now you are making me re-think my lack of goals….

  3. missyrayn says:

    For me I like races to challenge me for running. When I sign up for a race I know I have to train for it so I run about 3 times a week.

    For strength I rely on a trainer because I don’t know what is good for me. I want to read New Rules of Weight Lifting for women.

    For times I strive for 60 minute 5-6 days a week.

  4. gemfit says:

    For me it’s got to be something firm. I’m doing the 100 pushups challenge at the moment (proper form pushups only) since I know my upper body strength is waning since I’m not training as much. I’m also doing the C25k thing to get to my run a 5k goal.

    But otherwise a good goal for me is to be able to see a measureable difference. Perhaps a goal that in X weeks you’ll be able to get through the circuit faster or without a break?

    Or get MJ to design a workout to test you and push you to your limits and then aim to beat that in 6 weeks?

    • Mish says:

      We are aiming for six weeks. Right now it’s 3x/week weights, 4x/week cardio. I just need to get it into my head that I have a goal and something to to work towards. I have been thinking about this all day.

  5. eaternotarunner says:

    Running races have been great motivators for me, but I’m not sure in terms of weightlifting etc. Can’t wait to hear what you come up with!

  6. amandapanda1981 says:

    My goals per week is run between 30-40 miles, strength train 2-3 times, and attend kickboxing/boxing class 5 times. I know it sounds like an intense schedule but it works for me. 🙂 I started my running when I had a particular goal to achieve (my first half marathon). Good luck to you on what you come up with

    • Mish says:

      That is quite the week. Good on you for doing all that. I love this idea of adding classes into my schedule cause it breaks things up.

  7. Libby says:

    How do you plan fitness goals? Well, the question is what do you want as your end result? Then plan your fitness goals to make that happen… I am having problems getting motivated to even start working out routinely! Its a struggle I deal with every day of my life. I wish I had your energy and motivation!!!

    • Mish says:

      I read that and thought…what a great way to think about it ‘What do I want my end result to be?” Still thinking, but thank you for posing that question.

  8. Greta says:

    My big goal was to get to a 10 minute mile for 2 miles, then 3, then 4. I have done that…but just barely…and only on the treadmill….so I am still working on making sure I have fully reached that goal.

    Next, I think I will work on just running as far as I can for 45 minutes and see if I can increase my distances each month. I’d also like to attempt a 10 mile run every couple three weeks (most I have done so far is 8). Maybe one day do 13.1 just to say I can run a half marathon….whether or not I do an actual one.

    Weight lifting wise…this is ALL so new and exciting to me that I do not really have any goals except that I want to keep lifting a bit more each week or two and seeing progress.

    I’d LOVE to be able to hammer out 10 (then 20, then 30) excellent real-style super far down pushups. Last July I could get in the push up positon but…seriously…not lower or bend my arms AT ALL while there. After much work….including a chiropractor, a physical therapist, weights, kettlebells, planks, dynamic hands planks on the bosu ball, etc…..I can do a few “sort of almost” real ones. Who the heck knew it would be SO HARD and take SO LONG to get my shoulders and arms and neck and back to this point? It has been a journey, for sure.

    Weight-wise….I want to get to about 23% body fat and not lose any lean muscle. I am around 29% right now (using my wonkyish scale that does not have an athletic setting…so who knows the real number…all I care is that it goes down!) So…that means I still have to lose about 20 more pounds.

    Sorry to be so long winded!

    • Mish says:

      Greta,

      I love how you broke that down. I think it gives a realistic view of how fitness and weight goals can be combined to bring about a physical/mental/fitness balance.

      Thank you.

  9. Susan says:

    Cardio goals are easy to make – running ‘x’ amount of miles, or hitting a certain pace. But weight lifting goals are more fun 😉 The very first time I did squats with a body bar on my back, I thought to myself “I’m going to work up to doing this with an olympic bar.” And it just went from there. Outstanding fitness goals are to do military push ups, a chin-up/pull-up, squat with my bodyweight on my back, hold a plank for 3 minutes, and so on. Just get in there, experiment, get dirty, and you’ll find things to put your mind to. Everyone’s goals are different, you’ll come up with a set that are unique only to you 🙂

  10. mary kate says:

    love your journey! thanks for sharing it with others:) I like to have a goal in my fitness and like most of the previous comments I like to enter a race so I have something to train for. I am going to run a 1/2 marathon this year and then I want to do a mini-triatholon. When i start getting bored with my routine I look for something to change-either style or type of my workout. want to save up for the TRX system!

    love the MJ workout…makes me hurt thinking about it!

  11. Elisabeth says:

    My fitness goals run the gamut. Last year, my first goal was to run a 15K. Then I signed up for a 1/2 marathon before the 15K. While training for the 15K, I signed up for a marathon. This year, my goal is to do 2 triathlons, a 1/2 marathon, and a full marathon.

    I also want to be able to do 25 (proper form) pushups in a row, and be able to lift my legs above my head in an upright pike while doing hanging abs…that goal in particular will probably take me until next year though. lol.

    I think that in general, my goal is to just constantly keep myself challenged.

    • Mish says:

      I love the idea of constantly challenging myself. I think that is the key to keep your mental game on your toes. Knowing that you’re getting somewhere better with what you’re doing.

  12. Emma says:

    Hi Mish 🙂

    I’ve just stumbled across your blog and I have to say, I absolutely love it. I love how open and honest you are … I suffer from binge eating too and have done so for a couple of years really badly.. I’m struggling a lot at the moment and to read someone who is fighting it so well is really encouraging.

    I hope you like living in Australia 🙂 Do you think you’ll move back to Oregon when you finish Uni?? Good luck for when you start Uni. You’ll love it! I’m a 2nd year Journalism student (and a mature age student too) and it’s fantastic! The only times I regret it is when I have a million things due at once!!!

    Em xox

    • Mish says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by. It means so much that you said that about me and my honesty. It’s the one thing that is the foundation for me in writing and I am glad that it’s reached out to you. Thanks again for popping by and I hope that you continue to come back 🙂

  13. MizFit says:

    You know that i could ramble for eons about this one.

    For me, interestingly, I do not respond well to the GOAL OF COMPETITION.
    Im not competitive by nature (Im a rebel. The looming competition is actually more likely to make me workout less :)) so it needs to be something else.

    For me (again as Im smitten with the iron) it really does veer toward strength goals.
    Tracking, for example, my bench press ability over time. If I can add even the slightest of weights Im motivated anew.

    For running right now Im merely going by time. doing even a minute longer than last run (even if Im a t a slower pace) is a cause for goalcelebration up in herre.

    hope this helped even a little.

  14. christie @ honoring health says:

    Since yoga is my preferred exercise, my goals are usually related to a certain pose I am trying to accomplish or to try a class or podcast that I know will be harder than my level. For example, Baron Baptiste style of yoga is pretty hard core and so I decided to set the goal of attending on of his workshops. Which I did, it kicked my bootay but it felt amazing to do it. So, basically, I only function well with small goals and not big overwhelming ones.

  15. Steena says:

    Nice workout! Go you!

    The last time I set a goal was about this time last year, I set a goal to do a 5 mile race. At that point my longest distance was 3 miles. I trained & got there, finished in 48 minutes!

    but since then i’ve slacked off in making goals and have been striving to maintain my weight loss & ability to run 5 miles.

    Perhaps your blog just inspired me to make a new goal… Thanks!

  16. moonduster (Becky) says:

    I am working on my fitness goals too. After losing 131.5 pounds, I only have 4 pounds until I reach a healthy BMI according to the charts and 6 pounds until I reach my intended goal weight. And now it’s no longer about how much I can lose but about my health and fitness levels.

  17. Jenna says:

    Hey!
    I just came across your blog and I can’t wait to read it and follow!
    I would love it if you could check out mine and follow:)
    Jenna

  18. julie says:

    Hmm, I sort of think of myself as mostly fit, haven’t really defined it. Truthfully, I’m embarrassed to say, my mind reels at the concept of non-weight based body goals. The only thing that comes to mind is being able to backpack 10 miles to camp somewhere nice. Otherwise, it’ll be when my flab is gone to see my muscles underneath (very close). Muscles are awesome!

  19. All Women Stalker says:

    Whew! I don’t know if I can take that intense workout. Someday when I’m more fit.

    Mish, I know what you mean about trying to be thin and trying to be fit. Up till now, I’ve realized that I’ve simply been trying to be thin. I will shift gears to trying to be fit and more energetic. God knows I need those things more than a thin body.

Leave a Reply

