Leave It All Behind, Take Nothing With You

Where do you find direction?


I wrote earlier today about Fitness Goals. I don’t really have any didn’t have any this morning. I spent all day today thinking about what my fitness goals are. Sometimes I think that we lolly-gag through life bouncing from diet to diet, exercise program to couch, this to that.

What I am craving is direction. Direction in my food, fitness, self-development.

I was inspired by the comments today on the Fitness Goals post. So many of you are really fitness driven in many different ways. That’s what I love about making goals…everyone reacts differently.

So what are my Goalerbrations (as MizFit would say) for the next six weeks?

  1. Drop .5%+ of body fat (currently at 28%)
  2. Be able to do the WHOLE of the intense weight lifting workout from MJ. No modifications..nothing…just straight up.
  3. Be able to run the 5km path that has hills without doing intervals.
  4. Plan and do all workouts (3x weights, 4x cardio, 1x yoga)

If I do that…I may have reason to dance on poles!

I was inspired by Cynthia@ItAllChanges to do the following:

  1. Plan out my two weeks of fitness
  2. Make up a fitness mantra: Leave It All Behind, Take Nothing With You!

What today has taught me is that I can find direction by being purposeful and realistic about what I can do and where I want to be. I have never focused on fitness goals before. I usually rebel against them. However, I know down deep that I can do anything that I put my mind to. That frankly I am not deprived of anything in my life, my life is full, rich, beautiful. That I am worthy, powerful and ready to kick my own ass.

What is your fitness/life/direction mantra?


19 thoughts on “Leave It All Behind, Take Nothing With You

  1. Jenn says:

    I forgot to comment yesterday! I think the perfect fitness goal for someone who is changing thier focus from food and weight to “being fit” (this is you :)) is to sign up for a scheduled run. It could be a 5km since that is actually one of your goals anyway. I suggest this only because your goal of BMI isstill very number centered and your goal of plan and do all workouts is great in theory (believe me I plan it all the time) but unrealistic as life is ALWAYS getting in the way! I wouldnt want yout o be down on yourself or stop planning those workout if it isnt achieved…
    So my suggestions:
    sign up for a 5K and perhaps a 10 K a bit farther down the road.
    plan workouts and do your best to stick to the plan
    be ble to do the whole workout with no modifications(love this one!)
    keep being accountable here… youhave so much support!

  2. Jenelle says:

    As cheesy as it sounds, my mantra is quite aligned with Nike’s slogan “Just Do It.” Thinking and over-thinking my workouts tires me out. Coming up with excuses NOT to work out tires me out. The only solution is to lace up my sneakers and go. No doubts or questions.

    I love your polo photo. SO fun πŸ™‚
    Your goals and direction sound so great. Having something to work towards makes the work seem a little easier sometimes.

  3. Diana says:

    That’s awesome Mish. πŸ™‚ Good for you.
    Right now I really don’t know what I want to do, so no direction. I’ll have to think about it. And I don’t have a mantra!

  4. Diane Fit to the Finish says:

    I think it’s great that you are really thinking about what your goals are and how to get there! My fitness goals are to try to tone and strengthen more. How am I going to do that? Not sure yet! Maybe the 30 day shred, maybe something else!

    • Mish says:

      The 30 Day Shred is a good one. Also yoga. I mean that. yogadownload.com has free classes you can try for 20 minutes. Also Fitenessta (google) is running a Winter Shape Up right now. You can do everything from home. Tone baby tone πŸ™‚ You look great anyways.

  5. Nicole @ Geek Turned Athlete says:

    Yay! I’m so glad that you are planning out your workouts! It is easier to work towards a goal that way. πŸ˜‰

    My mantra: Just do it! Stop making excuses! Get over what you think you CAN’T do. You CAN do it!

    Happy working out!

  6. Chloe @ Project Live Well says:

    I really enjoy your blog posts – you have a great writing style. I’m still learning to write well – the more I practice the better I’ll get, right?!

    Love your fitness goals and I completely relate – I have pretty much the same goals right now so I’ll be interested to see how you get on.

    Chloe

  7. sloane carlson says:

    I Liked reading this post. Quite some usefull fitness info in it for me :). And after reading this i think you will really like the book Burn The Fat Feed The Muscle. To me this is like the health and fitness bible. Last year i lost almost 25 pounds and gained an inch on my arms in 12 weeks. What you describe here does resemble the book a bit, but there is so much more! I added the link in my name so you dont have to search for it ;). Again, nice post and i hope you keep it up!

Leave a Reply

