Ready for Combat

A Self-Love reflection from MizFit

What I love about myself is the fact that I can laugh at myself and that I possess the ability to make others laugh as well.
It’s interesting to me that, as I type this, it feels almost as ‘prideful’/boastful/uncomfortable to me as saying I HAVE A ROCKIN BOD! or something along those lines as well. Yet it is my favorite thing about me.
I dont take myself overly seriously and, to that end, can quickly help others around me feel both at ease and—I hope—begin to take themselves & life a smidge less seriously as well. In a good way.

Once upon a time I lived in Guatemala for a while.  One day I was ambling around with my daughter on my back in a sling when outofnowhere (as happened frequently there) a parade sprung up and someone (in excitement) tossed a firework our direction.  I RAN, like the awkward gazelle that I am, quickly in the opposite direction and we were fine.
It was in that moment that I realized I may be ENTIRELY uncoordinated (I am. Hence the love of the weight training over, say, cardio hiphop class) but my body works pretty damn quickly & well when I ask it to.  For that I am grateful & love it.

People often ask me how I can help other people in the realm of fitness when I don’t struggle with it myself to a great degree.  To me the notion of struggle is universal and I can easily translate mine into a different realm.  I’m working on loving myself where I am TODAY with regards to my career & *not* comparing to others and thinking I should/must/ought to be where they are already.

Ready from combat?

Today has been A LOT better than yesterday’s carb load. I actually woke up this morning and thought ‘I really don’t want cereal for brekky’. So I listened to my stomach, my body (WOOT!) and made this:

  • 100g (3 oz) firm tofu
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • 1 c. frozen veggies
  • 1/4 c. Jasmine rice
  • 1 TB crushed walnuts
  • 1 TB almond butter

My almond butter supply is dwindling WAY too quickly. I entertained my taste buds with two cups of tea. One the candy cane and another green tea w/ jasmine.

Lunch: 1/2 c. of this amazing little salad I made

unpictured salad w/ a little avocaodo, sundried tomato and heaps of veggies. 1 c. grapes.

I was full, but old patterns die hard. I had 1 Carrot Cinnamon Muffin and 1 orange.

I was stuffed. I realised that I had over-eaten and said ‘that’s interesting…note to self. I then made a cranberry spritzer

  • 1/4 c. pure cranberry juice
  • 1 1/2-2 c. sparkling water
  • 6-8 drops stevia
  • ice

Then of course 3:30pm rolled around and I had two of the gluten free cookies w/ 1TB almond butter on 1/2 of a carrot and a handful of these fried snow pea things.

I went to the gym, snuck in a quick 15 minute arm and plank workout….. but I walked into the SPIN class and left instantly. Why the hell would you be teaching a SPIN class with an f-ing stop watch and say to the class ‘I am not going to SPIN, I am just going to stand here and count out your intervals.’ UMM no thank you. I wish Rachel was there to whip me into shape. So I walked upstairs and went to Body Combat.

It was AWESOME, but then again I LOVE boxing. When I was more cashed up I had a personal trainer and whenever we got to box, I felt like it was a treat. I was a SWEATY mess and it was great.

Dinner: 3 c. of cereal (I KNOW) and 1/2 c. canned pineapple, 1 orange, 1/4 c. of pumpkin

SNACK ATTACK: a little more of the rice salad, a handful more of the snow peas, 1 more cookie. Then I stepped back and thought of the comment that Jo-Lynne left ‘I don’t stand up or eat at my computer anymore’ on the How Do You Eat post.

I am currently tucked away in bed ready to crash. I would call today a success. I am learning to listen to my body. I realised that this arvo’s snacks and tonight’s snacks were caused by me avoiding dishes and laundry. Hey, I am just being honest.

Have you ever tried a work-out that you didn’t think you’d like and you did? Tried one you thought you’d like and didn’t?


22 thoughts on “Ready for Combat

  1. Susan says:

    Okay okay, I totally have to try Body Combat now. No more excuses 😉 I thought I was going to hate step class because, like Miz, I’m awfully uncoordinated. But I LOVE it. It’s a chance for me to just let loose and work up a goofy sweat. Totally thought I was going to love Body Pump cause I love weight lifting, but it’s never done it for me. I like doing my own thang in the weight room 😉

  2. love2eatinpa says:

    so glad you had a good day and that it happened from listening to your body!
    after 3-1/2 years i finally was able to leave a pilates class that was getting stale and took cardio kickboxing, which rocks. change often scares me, so i was really happy with myself for being brave enough to get out of my comfort zone.

  3. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon) says:

    I didn’t think I’d like Spin or Kickboxing that much, but now I love them both!

    I thought I’d like Zumba way more than I do — I’ve tried it twice now, and I don’t think I’ll be going back.

    • Mish says:

      Yoga works on so many levels. What I like abt. yoga is that you can make it hard, easy, medium. You’re constantly being challenged on every level.

  4. s. says:

    I really want to try zumba – it looks like so much fun! – but my gym’s studio has glass walls and hooboy i am far too self conscious to be caught dancing like a fool (i have no coordination).

  5. gemfit says:

    I thought I’d hate Zumba because I’m so uncoordinated but I love it. I thought I’d love Pump but I hate working with weights in a class setting – I feel like my form suffers in order to keep up with the beat. I’d rather do my weights on my own and focus on form instead of pace.

    I wish my gym offered Combat though – it’s an awesome workout and I loved every minute of it at my old gym.

  6. Deb (SmoothieGirlEatsToo) says:

    Body combat rocks the freakin house. I realized that my inner thighs are SORE SORE SORE- and couldnt’ figure out which workout did the dirty- it was body combat! I discovered Les Mills’ classes when I was in Oz about a decade ago and couldn’t figure out why we didn’t have anything like it in the states-sooo glad it’s here now.

  7. Steena says:

    I LOVE that you’re posting people’s responses to your question “what do you love about yourself”. All responses have been really great, and even ofter me answers to that question. Very inspiring stuff.

    Good for you to walk out on the lazy SPIN trainer. I’m jealous of your gym that you have that option. I go to a dinky one with 4 treadmills :p

  8. All Women Stalker says:

    I tried spinning once and I thought it would be a breeze. I was proven wrong! But I l still liked it.

    I see you drink Celestial seasonings. I love their sleepy time tea. It really works!

Leave a Reply

