Legs a Burnin’

A Self-Love reflection from Julie

I love how I feel stronger and more in-tune with my body every day.  As I start to increase my strength training and yoga, and take on new fitness challenges like spinning and running a half-marathon, I am amazed at how strong and able my body feels.  It is driving me to listen to my body and figure out what works best for me.

Do you like workin’ your legs?

I have to admit I love my legs. I have really big, muscular calves and there are times when I’ve had people stop me and say ‘I love your calves’. I used to be self-conscious of my calves…but now I LOVE them.

I woke up this morning and thought ‘Just go to the gym and you’ll feel so much better.’ I was inspired by Cynthia who was inspired by IowaGirlEats. When I read throught IGE’s ‘workout‘ section..I knew that LEGS it was today.

Legs A Burnin’ Everything three times through

I felt like I had lactic acid pumping straight into my muscles…amazing! I always ALWAYS feel better once I workout. I have to admit when I was looking at myself today I was a bit disappointed with the way my body looked. However, with each leg pump, sweaty lunge, kicker that annoyance/frustration left.

I came home and powered up with some cereal. 1 c. rice krispies, 1 c. Special K, 1/2 c. raisin bran and 1 banana.

Normally I would have gone back for more, but I just am going to sit on one serve and see how I feel.

Which leg workout do you love to hate, hate to love? What other part of your body do you like to work?



16 thoughts on “Legs a Burnin’

  1. Antonia says:

    I love leg work outs too and always feel so accomplished after working them. I actually just finished my leg work out today too and I can barely even walk now.

  2. Marisa (Loser for Life) says:

    Your calves are sexaaaaay, girlie!

    That’s a great leg workout; thanks for sharing 🙂

    I like doing the leg press machine. I can really push a lot of weight on that one and it makes me feel like a brute – I love it! I love working abs, too.

    Like your new tag line, M!

  3. love2eatinpa says:

    since my legs are always covered at the gym, i really like (ok, this is so embarassing!) looking in the mirror at my arms cuz i always wear tank tops. i like to see my blood vessels and muscles popping out. (i know, kinda gross!)

  4. eaternotarunner says:

    You do have great legs! I like to look at my arms and shoulders when I work out, I think they look strong 😉

  5. missyrayn says:

    My calves are my favorite body part. They always have looked good thanks to marching band.

    I hate doing toe raises because I get off balanced. But I love squats because they work me all over.

  6. Jenn says:

    I love my plyometrics workout! It is a whole bunch of squats, lunges and jumps. I think the fact that the workout is constantly changing keeps it interesting (not 3 sets of each thing). throughout the workout the heart is working hard too so it is legs and cardio all wrapped up in a pretty little package with a lactic acid bow 🙂

  7. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Ah yes I am a leg person too. My legs have always been my strongest asset.

    These days, I just have to work hard to keep them lean. Something not very nice happens to women’s legs when they turn 40 (the back of the knees don’t look nice) and the best thing is to try to keep them lean. So I just do running and yoga – that seems to do the trick. They look fine from a distance!

    You do have very good legs. I notice such things!

  8. Elisabeth says:

    I also have GINORMOUS calves. I’ve had MEN walk up to me and tell me they are envious of my calves. =) I used to be incredibly self-conscious about them, but now I love mine too. Funny how things come more into perspective as we get older.

  9. Brenda says:

    I have always loved doing chair squats! Right now I am hating but loving planks. I know under my flabby arms and flabby stomach, I have some amazing biceps/abs there lol.

  10. Shannon Fab Fattie says:

    You do have great legs!
    A good leg workout is the bomb I love them. I am becoming a fan of arm and back workouts. It is awesome to see how quickly your body changes and starts transforming 😉

  11. thenheathersaid says:

    i pretty much LOATHE/fall in love with squats and lunges every time I do them. A few of the classes during my class challenge thus far have been FILLED with them. Im learning to love them a TAD bit more than I hate them this time around.

  12. Laura says:

    I’m deathly afraid of my arms so I’m focusing a lot on those & getting them toned up, its pain but it’s TOTALLY worth it.

Leave a Reply

