Change Resistant?

A Self-Love reflection from Abby

I love that I’m flexible! I love that changes in plans don’t throw me off. I love that I can adjust quickly and willingly to support, encourage and accommodate the people that I love. I love that I don’t look at this as a weakness–I don’t feel that I’m being walked on or taken advantage of. I am so thankful that God has given me this gift to use to the benefit and blessing of others. How can that be a weakness?!

Are you willing to change?

I sat in my bed this morning, before opening my computer and looked out the window.

The trees are beginning to change colours, leaves are beginning to die. They don’t have a choice in change, they don’t fight change. They accept change, embrace it, go with it, adpat to environmental conditions and move on.

I don’t like change and find myself rebelling against it…even if it’s what I really want.

However, what I came to an understanding about today is that many times we fight change because we do not have a clear vision about where we actually want to be. We, I, say that I want to to this,that,ortheother…but really when it comes down to it I don’t know and/or can’t see what that feels like.

Thoughts? How did you overcome the change resistance wall and set-forth on what you wanted? Do you/Did you have a clear image in your mind of what you wanted to be?


14 thoughts on “Change Resistant?

  1. gemfit says:

    I’ve gone through a ton of change in my life. Some planned, some not.

    The biggest thing I can recommend is to create a SMART goal plan and a vision board. Years ago, I was in a job I hated, studying a course I thought would get me nowhere and struggling. I wrote a goal that by a certain date, I would be working in a writing or publishing related job, despite having no experience. I knew that my passion lay in that direction.

    On that exact date, I interviewed for and got my first publishing job. That was 6 years ago.

    4 years ago I promised myself that I would move overseas by a certain date and move up in my career. I did. I gave myself a definite goal and by doing so, my body and mind caught up and got me there.

    I don’t love change entirely but I embrace it because the opposite is being stuck in a rut. Life’s too short to stay in one place and not grow. To grow is to change. To change is to grow.

    (sorry for the ramble)

  2. Ryan Sullivan says:

    I am a total creature of habit and change used to irk me to no end. One day I decided I wanted something more from my life and the words of a friend made me realize that change was not an option if I wanted things to improve. After some tough love from that friend I sort of had an a-ha moment. I don’t know why I spent so long doing the same things but expecting different results. Now change comes a lot more naturally.

    • Mish says:

      I think that is SUCH an important thing for me to remember. If I want it…I have to change. Now, I just have to decide what I really want.

  3. Mary :: A Merry Life says:

    My middle name is flexible. I’ve got nothing steady or set in my life, it’s all just go with the flow. I don’t know what I’ll be doing, where I’ll be living, or anything past the next couple weeks. So yeah, I’m good with change.

  4. abbynormally says:

    Thank, Mish! I’m so humbled to be apart of your great work here!! Change is so hard! Sometimes it’s exciting, but when it’s unexpected and unwanted, it can be like losing a friend! Good things usually come, but it doesn’t make it easy!

  5. plamarie says:

    Oh, the trees changing. I must admit, that although I don’t care for the winter the beauty of changing leaves is beautiful. You are right, they don’t fight change. I resist change because I like things my way and am stuck in my ways. A good and a bad thing. Learning every day, to take things as they are and just enjoy it. 🙂

  6. challenges2010 says:

    I don’t like change either. I realized as much as I liked the pop and junkfood I was eating it wasn’t worth it anymore. It took me a year to get my mind to fully accept that change was necessary. How I got there was to keep telling myself I had lost a lot of weight before and that I had completed my new years resolution last year so I could do this. The other thing was reading many great blog posts such as yours.
    Even with things going well now I keep pounding into my head that this change has to be for life! Hopefully that fully takes:-)

  7. All Women Stalker says:

    I hate hate hate change. I cry and cower when I feel it coming. But then I sit back and wipe the tears and then think about things rationally. If I find that the change doesn’t take me far from my goals, I go with it and see what happens. If it doesn’t work with my goals, I find a way to change the situation.

    • Mish says:

      I like that. Many times I find that if I strip away the emotions from a situation the clarity of the situation is managable.

  8. Tami says:

    This is my first time to your blog and I want to tell you how much I am enjoying your writing.

    I love your “exposed” photo and the fresh outlook you have regarding body image!

    I am a creature of habit, don’t like change, afraid to take risks. You get the picture. Well something has changed with in me in the past 6 months or so. I turned 50 last summer and decided it was time to break out of my shell.

    I took a computer class, started a healthy lifestyle blog myself, that is a huge risk for someone who is quite private about herself.

    I decided I wanted to get my teeth straightened so I have started that process as well.

    I have gained back some of the weight I had lost so I decided to make a change and get back to my goal weight. What have I been waiting for?

    Fear is a terrible thing and I can let it rule my life or I can take a chance, make a change and see what happens.

    I have now found that making a change gives me a sense of being powerful and in control. It can be exciting!

    • Mish says:

      “Fear is a terrible thing and I can let it rule my life or I can take a chance, make a change and see what happens. I have now found that making a change gives me a sense of being powerful and in control. It can be exciting!” —> brilliant.

  9. thenheathersaid says:

    every so often i page through old journals. it seems that everytime i read a specific little package in one, I copy it down in my current journal and a year or so later the cycle continues. I have no idea when the thought first crept into my mind, but something tells me it was not long after I hit 20 years:

    The moment I refuse to change. The very second I decide that I am done, and that there is no more growing to do, is the VERY MOMENT that I begin dying. Living life = change, growth, newness.

  10. missyrayn says:

    I hate change. I’ve learned to adapt to it better than I used to but I still don’t like it.

    Sometimes I just have to force myself to just do stuff even if it will be different. And sometimes I like it. I feel better when I finish even when I don’t like it.

Leave a Reply

