Hard & Fast -or- Slow & Steady?

A Self-Love reflection from Erin

What do I love about myself? I love that I’m not afraid of a challenge, whether it’s moving to a completely foreign country or pursuing sky-high goals. I’ve learned to love my body and realize that no one is perfect, so why not aim to be the best ME that I can be? As I get older, I grow more confident, self-assured and capable of loving and being loved. Life is a miracle and a gift — I’m so happy to have realized that before it’s too late and start loving every moment of my time here.

How do you like your workouts?

This morning I got up…and got my shred on! First I powered up with a bit of the walnut while Jillian coaxed me into her domain.

I did Levels 1 and 3. Level 3 is hard. I think it was mentally hard because I have never done it before. I made it through the whole set and honestly I could see how much I can improve. I LOVED it.

My legs were sweating.


I boozed it up…I don’t have any weights
.

I personally like workouts that are hard and fast. I much prefer to do an intesene 20 minute treadmill interval then to do 45 minutes non-intense. I also prefer to do workout classes which focus on short intervals of an exercise and then move on: BodyCombat, BodyPump etc. I do like spinning…but I have to be in the right mindset for it.

This brings me to the questions: Hard & Fast or Slow & Steady?
What type of workout do you prefer?


if you haven’t already…enter the ‘Adore xoxo Giveaway


19 thoughts on “Hard & Fast -or- Slow & Steady?

  1. Yum Yucky says:

    I totally ditto your workout style. Just get to the point and let me keep rollin’ already! Plus I never know when one of the spawns will crawl up and wrap their entire body around my exercising leg. Get off me!!!

  2. Jenelle says:

    You started the Shred! I am so excited! I give you major props for taking on Level 3 so soon – it still kicks my butt 🙂 I couldn’t agree with you more on shorter intense workouts vs long moderate workouts. I also only feel good about a workout if I’m drenched in sweat at the end.

  3. challenges2010 says:

    As much as I hate the hard and fast workouts somedays they do a great job getting you in the fat burning zone so prefer them. Just started walking a month ago and can’t wait to get running because it’s quicker and more intense.

  4. marathonkim says:

    I’m all over the 30 Day Shred–but still at Level 1. Weight training is so hard for me to do without any coaching–I get bored, I slack off, I don’t know what to do. I really love the long, intense workouts that group classes like kickboxing give. And there’s socialization, too, which you just can’t get sweating it out in the living room with a TV personality. 🙂

    I’m hoping the JM exercises will suffice for strength training as I train for a half marathon!

  5. Mandy says:

    Both! Just depends on my mood, although I will say I’m not too big on long cardio sessions. I can do a 90 minute yoga class no problem, but the days of 60 minute spin class or 60 minute step class is looooong gone, and I must say, my body is not worse for it, at all!

    I’ve learned working out smart is way better than working out hard.

    Just ordered Jillian’s No More Trouble Zones. V excited.

    xoxo

  6. KatieP says:

    Hard and fast … but you already knew that!

    My belly was sweating today when I was lying in the sun getting a tan, so maybe that counts as slow as steady 🙂

  7. Steena says:

    I agree, it feels more accomplishing when you do a hard & fast workout.
    But slow & steady is good when you’re training for a marathon!

  8. missyrayn says:

    I like sweating quickly and getting a good burn in a short amount of time. I did that yesterday with my run and with my weights. I burned 600 calories in about an hour and felt great…even if I did swear at the tv.

  9. All Women Stalker says:

    Slow and steady. I like long workouts that are slow and steady. But sometimes, to shake it up a bit, I do hard and fast workouts. =D Your narrative of your wonderful workout made me realize I haven’t had a good one in a while. Have to do something about that.

Leave a Reply

