I Listened to My Heart

A Self-Love reflection from ME!!!!!

I love that no matter what, I crave/thirst/hunger for the continual evolution and growth for myself. I have learned that living for yourself is the most important thing. I love my laugh. I love my wit. I enjoy being around others and learning from them. I have strived to keep an open-mind and a cool temper. The process of learning this has reaped more than I thought imaginable.

To be honest, I am grateful that I am as open as I am. Many times people will comment on this. It’s my heart speaking and I am thankful that somewhere in me I find the courage to be real everyday.

Ohh, and I LOVE my collarbones.

If you didn’t have to worry about money/family/kids…what would you do/change?

I think that we have been raised and raise kids to constantly worry about what COULD happen if you do something. Does the fun in ‘throwing caution to the wind’ suddenly get taken away and boxed into a rational place? In July 2009 I went to East Timor and it changed my life. I have written previously about my trip to Timor, but the time that I spent there was honestly the most cleansing, eye-opening, stripped-back experience of my life.

I came home and did what my Grandpa always told me: Become a nurse! I quit my job, am taking on over 63,000.00 in debt and am starting over after having already gotten one two college degrees.

I am throwing caution to the wind and doing what I know is right in my heart. I love the idea of travelling around the world, working in and amoungst disaster sitatutions and hopefully finding a man who will support me on my journey and come with me ๐Ÿ™‚ that’s if he doesn’t have a DUI and pick his nose..that’s another story. Sometimes you must MUST throw caution to the wind, get in touch with your heart and ‘give it a go’.

I listened to my heart yesterday, actually got to listen to it beat. It was the most amazing thing ever.

Have you ever done something brave? Huge change? Career? Relationship? Location?


20 thoughts on “I Listened to My Heart

  1. Mary :: A Merry Life says:

    People say I do brave things. Use the actual word brave. I don’t see that. I just know I do what I want as much as I can when I want. That seems to translate into something people see as brave. But I think it’s just being smart, because you can never go wrong following your heart.

  2. Lance says:

    Mish,
    This is really so, so awesome to read! And that smile on your face….it just says it all…how much this really does mean.

    Mish, you are truly a beautiful and brightly shining star in the sky, touching so many people with your giving heart. I am deeply honored to call you friend…

  3. abbynormally says:

    This was a great post! You do have rockin’ collarbones!!
    I chnaged my major in college from Nursing to Classics. Leap of faith, but I’m glad I did it!

  4. Erin says:

    LOVE IT!

    If money wasn’t an issue, I’d love to do mission trips and dedicate my life to traveling to underprivileged parts of the world, helping people. I’ve looked into some jobs that do that, so who knows, but it’s definitely difficult when the thought of paying rent/mortgage and having a family comes into the picture.

  5. love2eatinpa says:

    great post!
    you are so lucky to have found out what you wanted to ‘throw caution to the wind’ to do. and you are doing it!!!
    i don’t believe i’ve had that moment yet. maybe one day it will hit me.

  6. eaternotarunner says:

    That is so awesome that you’ve found what you want to do. I am still looking for my calling!

  7. missyrayn says:

    I changed careers 2 years in. I was a foreign language teacher and felt called to ministry so I went back to seminary and became a pastor. I met Hunni there and we now serve in ministry together.

  8. Susan says:

    Lovelovelove this post. I played it safe for too long, ended up miserable and now throw caution to the wind every single day. Quit my steady job (the one I went to school for 4 years to get), decided to get my personal training certification, broke up with my boyfriend and am now moving to Canada’s largest city 20 hours away from home!! And honestly, I haven’t been scared at all during this whole process, if anything I’ve learned how to get excited again ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Mish says:

      I always tell people that when the decision is right, everything that is in your way..or would normally hold you back..is totally over-come-able. Money, location, house, job, man…it would normally hold people back, but when it’s the right decision these things don’t stand in the way.

      ‘You’re off to great places, you’re off and away’..WOOT!

  9. Deb (SmoothieGirlEatsToo) says:

    I love the fact that you are going back to school to become a nurse after getting not one but two degrees- soooo admirable, Mish- really. Wonderful that you are following your heart. The world will be a better place because of you. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I tossed my ‘higher’ falutin’ job for a lower one that was less stressful. It took 6 yrs to make the decision, but I’m glad I did it. I can’t worry about what others think of me- it’s my life and I have to live it in a way that works for me.

  10. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Yes, mighty fine collarbones. Funny you should mention those because people always laugh at the idea that I notice collarbones. But I do.

    What would I change? Well, I would up sticks and head off to Sydney to be with Sandra. And I think probably we would take a year and spend it in one of her projects in Africa.

    We’ll do it one day – just have to wait 10 years.

    Although I guess we’ll be too decrepit by then to be much use to anyone!

  11. Lara (Thinspired) says:

    Wow. This is so wonderful! I am honestly very inspired right now. And I love your self-love. I’ve never really thought to extend my love to my collar-bones, but perhaps I should ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m in a place right now where I have to overcome a lot of fears to make some big decisions. It was good for me to read this today. Thank you.

  12. Deanna says:

    Yes – life changing decisions for me were:

    to let go of my fear of heights and zipline through the rain forest anyway

    move to another city

    risk my heart for a chance at love

    go back to school

    change career directions

    leave my religion behind

    marry a good man

  13. All Women Stalker says:

    Oh Mish. You just gave some great input on a big decision I have to make. It is important for my health and my well-being. And also for the passions I want to pursue. Thanks for this post. I know what’s right in my heart. Society’s conventions are just holding me back.

Leave a Reply

