It’s JackSh*t’s Fault

A Self-Love reflection from Katie

I love that I feel like a bright light in the world and that people who meet me are inspired by my joy and enthusiasm.

I love that I no longer obsess about the size of my thighs and instead I am consumed with the size of my heart.

I love my tiny waist, my perfect boobs, my navel piercing, my tattoos, my long neck, my back and my hands and feet.

I love that I am smart, sexy, funny, confident, crazy, passionate, creative, inappropriate, beautiful and complex.

But most of all, I love that I have discovered that I don’t need fixing or improving in order to love and to be loved.

I woke up this moring with a stuffy head, achey temple and the lust…pure lust…for more sleep. As the day progressed I could feel myself and my mental space shifting.

I am coming to grips with learning how to eat and listen to my body. I am not be exercising everyday (opps) but what I am doing is listening to my body. Stopping when I am full, eating when I am hungry and removing the emotional attachement that has for so long ‘ball and chained’ me to abusive patterns.

I headed out for a date tonight…whatever eventuates from it doesn’t matter… I twittered

I actually want to blame JackSh*t for this resurgance and faith in myself today. He doesn’t get ‘blamed’ enough for his amazing words. Both of these posts are bookmarked on my internet window header.

Welcome to Today

Today is what’s ahead of you, and it’s a day full of promise and possibility. You can make a positive and lasting change in your life and you can start today. All it takes is attention to the smallest of details. All it takes is being mindful about what you put in your mouth, being attentive to your body’s deep yearning to move. There never seems to be a good time to start, but I say that today’s as good a day as any. Today’s your day to start making your life better.

Why Not?

Why not today?

I mean, seriously: why not?

Why not change the things that we both know need changing, dig down deep and really give this journey a true shot at success?

Why not make today the starting point of a new phase in this journey, take this opportunity to shift this baby into a gear that you maybe didn’t even realize you had?

Why not do it, do it right and start doing it today?

Why not?

I sat with my cute black dress, black cowboy boots, straighten hair, red lipstick and scooter helmet on and thought: Why the Hell don’t I give this a go? It may not be the end all, husband. It may never go to date two. However, I need to most importantly give myself a go, let my light shine, show of my beautiful spirit.

Why not?

It’s safe to say that although I am sure that JackSh*t wishes he could have been there giving his usual anecdotes, the spirit of those two posts and my renewed sense of who I am and what I like to do was not stiffled by me counting points, thinking about food, and/or worrying about fat rolls.

I just enjoyed every second of tonight, because I allowed myself to share my PASSIONS and be in the moment.

I suppose that’s what it’s really all about..why the hellz bellz not?

So…tell me..what is your ‘Why Not?


congrats to Sami as the winner of the ‘Adore xoxo‘ giveaway.

18 thoughts on “It’s JackSh*t’s Fault

    • Mish says:

      you’re my 4th favourite…so only 25% of the time. he thought I was just talking sh*t so he didn’t really pay attention.

  1. louisianagrown says:

    I love the self-love reflection at the top of this post. I think my why not has to do with writing. It’s a passion that I’ve had for as long as I can remember, but I’m so scared of really pursuing it.

  2. jessica says:

    Love you, girl. Sometimes I hear you in my head as I’m living my life 🙂 AND, how did the date go? 🙂

  3. seattlerunnergirl says:

    Yes! I am *so* excited to know *you* were excited to just live in the moment and love yourself. Can’t wait to hear how the date went.

  4. emilytheexperimentarian says:

    You have such and amazing blog! Thanks for your comment on mine–I was so glad to see you there! I am checking out some of your recipes right now! xoxo

Leave a Reply

